Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: GCC embed binary into a qtabwidget

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default GCC embed binary into a qtabwidget

    If there is a similar post out there I have not found it. pleases reply with a link if there is one.
    project description:
    We have created a modular approach with our projects. for example projectFramework which contains the qtabwidget. then projectA, projectB, -- projectL are treated as a module which get populated into each tab if the specified project is needed for the particular Job.
    currently the sub projects(A-L) are built into DLL'S, which are working. However, we need to have each project(A-L) in its own subfolder which becomes a module that can be there or not. Also we do not want the Framework binary to need those folders of libraries if they are not needed for the job. since we are using dll's that means we need to link them into the Framework and since they are linked then they need to exist in there perspective sub-folders.

    What We want to do:
    We are looking at converting these from dll to exe and then embed the binary GUI into qtabwidget. as an exe we have more control of this modular approach and can prevent the loading of a project if some of our project startup checks fail. Thus preventing any unwanted crash.

    Question:
    How can we embed a GUI binary into a QTabWidget of another binary project?
    Cannot run as a qprocess, since that will run it outside of the Framework and not inside the QTabWidget.

    Environment
    Windows 10, Msys2, Mingw64, Qt5.15 Qt Creator 4.14

    Thank you in advance and would greatly appreciate some ideas to accomplish this.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    509
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 76 Times in 74 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: GCC embed binary into a qtabwidget

    Hi, you can also load the DLLs dynamically. That way you can check if the DDL exists and load it as required. To do this do not link the DLL directly to your project. Instead use the LoadLibrary() function to load the DLL and GetProcAddress() to load specific functions from a loaded DLL.

    Ginsengelf

Similar Threads

  1. How to embed PPT in Qwidget
    By mouni in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th August 2016, 16:51
  2. Embed Mplayer in QML
    By mastablasta in forum Qt Quick
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 29th April 2015, 17:18
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st August 2013, 12:53
  4. Embed Qt Designer
    By emmynet in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st April 2011, 14:52
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th March 2007, 10:44

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.