Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: ViewPort Properties

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    New Delhi,India
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Post ViewPort Properties

    Hi,

    I have a big design which i have to draw using QT. Now drawing the entire design dynamically and displaying it on the frame takes lots of time.
    This application is very time specific.
    So what i planned is using the viewport concept wherein only that part of the design is dynamically created which is currently in display on the window. If the user moves the design left to right or vice versa and up to down or vice versa then the part of window is recreated dynamically into design.
    This concept would save me time from drawing the entire design again n again.

    Can this be implemented using QT?
    Can we use the viewport concept in QT?

    Thanking you,

    with regards,
    Kapil

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: ViewPort Properties

    You could try Q3Canvas or implement something similar yourself.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    New Delhi,India
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: ViewPort Properties

    Hi,

    I went thru the QCanvas class definition but then which of the function can provide me with the functionality of View Port.

    I do not want to show the entire picture 'coz my image file which is dynamically generated is very Big and takes long CPU time to get executed.
    So i just want to create that part of image which is currently on display on screen dynamically.

    Moment the user scrolls from left to right or top to bottom, the image for the new region gets created. This helps me from saving major time of execution.

    I could not locate any similar function in QCanvas which could help me in it.

    Kapil

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: ViewPort Properties

    QCanvas draws only those items that are visible.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    New Delhi,India
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: ViewPort Properties

    Hi,

    i tried using the qcanvas but it gives the error that "qcanvas.h" not found.. i checked in the include folder where i have installed QT and actually there were no qcanvas and related header files present...

    I am using the opensource windows version of QT4.1.1 with mingw...

    I dont know from where to get the entire package of QCanvas header files...

    please tell me how can i get them..

    Kapil

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: ViewPort Properties

    I've answered in thread 1377.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    New Delhi,India
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: ViewPort Properties

    Quote Originally Posted by dimitri
    I've answered in thread 1377.
    Hi..

    yaa... thanks a lot for the information... that gives the answer to my question..

    with regards,
    Kapil

Similar Threads

  1. Connecting dynamically added properties
    By stefkeB in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th December 2008, 15:19
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th February 2008, 21:17
  3. Saving properties of a QObject based class
    By ghorwin in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th April 2007, 01:26
  4. Properties, MetaObjects, and Models
    By EricTheFruitbat in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th January 2007, 19:51
  5. How to initialize properties to a custom plugin widget?
    By high_flyer in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th February 2006, 16:56

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.