Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Qt Strange size!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Qt Strange size!

    I have compiled small exe just few kB ( GUI + CORE ) and It requires QtCored4.dll QtGuid4.dll ?! It has 177 MB ! I have Qt 4.7 And code is in main.cpp


    Qt Code:
    1. #include <QtGui/QApplication>
    2. #include <QMessageBox>
    3. #include <QLibrary>
    4.  
    5. int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    6. {
    7. QApplication Studio(argc, argv);
    8.  
    9. if(QLibrary::isLibrary("Studio.Core")) {
    10. //...
    11. } else {
    12. //...
    13. }
    14.  
    15. return Studio.exec();
    16. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Why? I remember that it was using QtCore4.dll and QtGui4.dll (33MB) I used CONFIG += static but still nothing...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Qt Strange size!

    You should build the Release version which will need QtCore4.dll QtGui4.dll (without d) and this two have ~12mb.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt Strange size!

    So If I have Debug, it requires full libs, If Release then this "stripped" files ?? I am right ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Qt Strange size!

    No, the release are "full" too

    The debug versions are bigger because they have much more "debugging" information, so that they are easier to debug, you use the debug version on your computer to test and find bugs, and the release build when you send the application to your clients.

    And the release executable is optimized for better performance.

  5. The following user says thank you to Zlatomir for this useful post:

    Peppy (7th October 2010)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th November 2009, 12:25
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd March 2009, 17:26
  3. adjust font size to QLabel-size
    By hunsrus in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th July 2008, 14:33
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th October 2006, 16:40
  5. change font size and button size of QMessageBox
    By nass in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th September 2006, 19:16

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.