Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: using Qwt with windows

  1. #1

    Default using Qwt with windows

    Hi.
    I installed Qwt 5.1.1 (i am using qt 4.3.3) for Windows with MinGW Qt4 using the instructions provided in the install text file that is shipped in the zip archive.

    C) Win32/MinGW Qt4
    ==================

    C1) Windows Shell

    Start a Windows Shell, where Qt4 is initialized. ( F.e. with
    "Programs->Qt by Trolltech ...->Qt 4.x.x Command Prompt" ).

    qmake qwt.pro
    make

    If you didn't enable autobuilding of the examples in qwtconfig.pri
    you have to build the examples this way:

    cd examples
    qmake examples.pro
    make
    make install
    The Qwt widgets now show up in the designer as expected. However, when i add a Qwt widget to a form, such as a qwt plot, and then try to compile it, i get an error that says

    qwt_plot.h: No such file or directory
    if i edit the *.pro file and add the line

    INCLUDEPATH += C:\qwt-5.1.1\include
    i get an error that says

    C:/dev/graphing/mainwindow.cpp:5: undefined reference to `QwtPlot::QwtPlot(QWidg
    note that line 5 is where i call the setupUi method. can someone help me out here? Thanks.
    Last edited by mesman00; 10th November 2008 at 18:18.

  2. #2

    Default Re: using Qwt with windows

    i should also note that i cannot execute the qwt examples. i get the following error:

    The procedure entry point _Z5qFreePv could not be located in the dynamic link library QtCore4.dll

  3. #3

    Default Re: using Qwt with windows

    ok. i've fixed the problem i posted in the second post by adding c:\Qt\4.4.3\bin as the first entry in my PATH variable. I do not know what that would make a difference. however, i am still experiencing the trouble posted in the first post.

  4. #4

    Default Re: using Qwt with windows

    ok i have fixed all my problems now. i had to add

    INCLUDEPATH += C:\qwt-5.1.1\include
    LIBS += C:\qwt-5.1.1\lib\qwt5.dll
    to my project files. then since i had compiled qwt in release mode, i had to change my executable to release mode as well.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,230
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: using Qwt with windows

    I have changed my Qwt compile parameters (in Visual C++) so that Debug mode builds "qwt5d.dll" and Release mode builds "qwt5.dll". This allows me to link my debug executables with a debug Qwt library and follow the debugger into Qwt if needed.

    Since I convert Qt .pro files into Visual Studio projects, I don't know how to edit the .pro file directly to achieve this same output, but I'm sure it is possible.

    Regards,

    David

  6. #6

    Default Re: using Qwt with windows

    yah i actually figured that out this morning. you can change the setting in the .pri file before compiling qwt to build both the debug and release dll's.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: using Qwt with windows

    Hi mes,

    What changes you did in .pri file to run the examples of Qwt.

    Cheers,

Similar Threads

  1. Opening text file fails after autostartup on windows
    By yogourta in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th October 2008, 03:52
  2. Windows not appearing in XP.
    By beardybloke in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24th October 2007, 17:32
  3. QWT introduction
    By nitriles in forum Qwt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th September 2007, 10:48
  4. How to upgrade Qwt 5.0.1 to Qwt 5.0.2
    By luffy27 in forum Qwt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th July 2007, 19:55
  5. use interesting QWT Library with QT3.X
    By raphaelf in forum Qwt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd January 2006, 11:24

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.