Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Debugging on Mac

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Earth (Terra)
    Posts
    87
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Default Debugging on Mac

    New to Qt on the Mac, lots of experience elsewhere.

    Laying the groundwork for a cross-platform project - build isn't an issue, I can use qmake/gmake and php on all of the platforms to control the builds.

    Debugging is another issue. On Win, I can use the MS IDE. I'm assuming I can do the same thing on Mac w/ XCode. (I can [and have] used commandline debuggers, but an IDE makes things a lot easier.) I'm rummaging around in the XCode documentation, now, to figure out how to attach it to a non-XCode project for debugging.

    What are you all using to debug? Is Eclipse available on Mac and Win? If so, what have been your experiences with it? What about the emacs wrapper for gdb? Any other IDE your fave?

    Thoughts, heads up comments (and pointers to succinct docs, perhaps) appreciated as I rummage around....

    Thanx,
    rickb

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Debugging on Mac

    Maybe this helps: Qt4 with Xcode.
    J-P Nurmi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Earth (Terra)
    Posts
    87
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: Debugging on Mac

    Good resource, thanks.

    It's a bit broader in scope than I'm looking for - like I said, I'm comfortable using command-line tools for the build. I just want to use XCode and the like for debugging.

    thanx,
    rickb

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Earth (Terra)
    Posts
    87
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: Debugging on Mac

    Done some more research on this - XCode project has to be complete - i.e., has to have a '.xcodeproj' file, and has to have source listed properly in the '.xcodeproj' file. You can't just run XCode against an executable and expect it to debug it (like you can devenv on Win.)

    Right now, I'm having a problem because I can't step into Qt code - a vital necessity, in my experience. Suspect it has to do with not compiling the whole kit with QMAKESPEC=macx-xcode. Will have to try a rebuid.

    Onward.

    rickb

Similar Threads

  1. problem with gdb debugging
    By bruce1007 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd August 2006, 13:37
  2. KDevelop Debugging
    By freak in forum KDE Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd June 2006, 22:38
  3. Qt debugging
    By Morea in forum Newbie
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th March 2006, 18:28
  4. Best way to debug
    By campana in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26th February 2006, 03:20
  5. QDockWidget: Debugging crash
    By carsten in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 7th January 2006, 10:50

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.