Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: installing QT creator 5

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default installing QT creator 5

    the instructions on the read me is these:

    cd <path>/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-<version>
    ./configure -prefix $PWD/qtbase -opensource -nomake tests
    make -j 4


    the file are in the downloads folder with this name: qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.2.tar


    how i put the <path> and <version>?
    Cristiano Araujo

    Design and programming are human activities; forget that and all is lost.
    Stroustrup, Bjarne

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    coimbatore
    Posts
    80
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: installing QT creator 5

    "-prefix" <PATH> option in the configure above points to the path inside the rootfs where qt-e will be installedon Target FileSystem
    '"-platform 'qws/linux-x86-g++" in configure above assumes your host machine CPU to be of 32-bit. For 64-bit, use "-platform qws/linux-x86_64-g++"

    try this

    sudo ./configure -prefix /opt/qt/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: installing QT creator 5

    nothing works!

    tell me the code above, replacing the parts that should be replaced.
    Cristiano Araujo

    Design and programming are human activities; forget that and all is lost.
    Stroustrup, Bjarne

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: installing QT creator 5

    Quote Originally Posted by crisHerald View Post
    nothing works!
    Really? Your case would be helped by you telling us what you have actually downloaded, what you have actually typed, what actually happened, and what about it indicates it did not work. At the moment we can guess you are on a Linux box and have no other useful information.
    tell me the code above, replacing the parts that should be replaced.
    Give me a pony.

    cd <path>/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-<version>
    "<path>" is wherever you have unpacked the distributed Qt source archive file on your machine. You need to unpack the downloaded file first; it will not happen magically. For reasons I hope are obvious we cannot tell you where you have unpacked files on your machine. "<version>" is the plainly obvious version number that appears at the end of the actual directory name of the unpacked Qt source archive.

    Guessing that you have not unpacked the TAR file you mention:
    Qt Code:
    1. cd
    2. tar xvf {your downloads folder}/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.2.tar
    3. cd qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.2
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    ./configure -prefix $PWD/qtbase -opensource -nomake tests
    "$PWD" is an environment variable. You type it exactly as presented above.
    make -j 4
    Build the library. You type this exactly as above. Incidentally, these are instructions for building the Qt libraries, not Qt Creator


    Your level of understanding suggests to me that you should probably start with the pre-built library or Qt Creator binaries.
    Last edited by ChrisW67; 21st May 2013 at 00:25.

  5. The following user says thank you to ChrisW67 for this useful post:

    crisHerald (21st May 2013)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: installing QT creator 5

    im my first post i told this informations:

    the file are in the downloads folder with this name: qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.2.tar

    Added after 36 minutes:


    i tried another download from:

    http://qt-project.org/downloads and now i have this file i my Downloads folder

    qt-linux-opensource-5.0.2-x86-offline.run

    forgive me for my hard way to understand. i'm beginner on linux...

    in the software center i can't download the qt 5, just the qt 4 is avaliable.


    Added after 8 minutes:


    the procedure is the same for this type of file?
    Last edited by crisHerald; 21st May 2013 at 15:21.
    Cristiano Araujo

    Design and programming are human activities; forget that and all is lost.
    Stroustrup, Bjarne

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: installing QT creator 5

    Run that file. You may need add execute permissions to the file first. Assuming it is in the current directory:
    Qt Code:
    1. chmod u+x qt-linux-opensource-5.0.2-x86-offline.run
    2. ./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.2-x86-offline.run
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    You can probably do both these actions using a GUI file manager if you need to.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: installing QT creator 5

    no such file or directory

    when i try this on terminal:

    chmod u+x qt-linux-opensource-5.0.2-x86-offline.run

    i don need t put the path, in other words: the downloads folder?

    can i make this in right click properties / permissions/ allow execution as a file software?
    Cristiano Araujo

    Design and programming are human activities; forget that and all is lost.
    Stroustrup, Bjarne

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: installing QT creator 5

    Quote Originally Posted by crisHerald View Post
    no such file or directory
    That would be because the file is not in whatever directory you are in. That is why I typed "Assuming it is in the current directory". If it is not the current directory then you can either specify a full or relative path to the file or change directory to where the file is first.
    can i make this in right click properties / permissions/ allow execution as a file software?
    Yes, and double-clicking will probably launch the file if it is marked as executable by the user.

  10. The following user says thank you to ChrisW67 for this useful post:

    crisHerald (22nd May 2013)

  11. #9
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: installing QT creator 5

    i don´ t have any application to open exe files.
    which app can i use to open?
    Cristiano Araujo

    Design and programming are human activities; forget that and all is lost.
    Stroustrup, Bjarne

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: installing QT creator 5

    If you are using Linux, you cannot open .exe file directly.
    What is the name of exe that you want to open ?

  13. #11
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: installing QT creator 5

    forgive me for this mistake i mean .run file it needs a application to open.
    Cristiano Araujo

    Design and programming are human activities; forget that and all is lost.
    Stroustrup, Bjarne

  14. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: installing QT creator 5

    I think you didn't follow ChrisW67's earlier post #6.
    Qt Code:
    1. chmod u+x qt-linux-opensource-5.0.2-x86-offline.run
    2. ./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.2-x86-offline.run
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    To run the binary, you have to do second line. Is that what you are looking for ?

  15. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: installing QT creator 5

    Since you seem to be using Nautilus:
    • Open NAutilus
    • Locate qt-linux-opensource-5.0.2-x86-offline.run
    • Righ-click on it and select properties
    • Select the Permissions tab
    • Make sure the Execute checkbox is ticked
    • Click close
    • Double-click the qt-linux-opensource-5.0.2-x86-offline.run file

    temp.png

  16. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Armenia/Yerevan
    Posts
    400
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: installing QT creator 5

    You're very lucky to be having Chris straight forward explanation .
    After this steps, you may also make sure you have gcc and g++ installed on your system as Qt does not have its own built compiler.
    If you got any error regarding compilers, install gcc and g++ packages.

  17. The following user says thank you to saman_artorious for this useful post:

    crisHerald (24th May 2013)

  18. #15
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: installing QT creator 5

    thanks for attetion from every one. now iḿ using debian 7 and everything works fine!

    thanks for every one that tried to help give me good explantions. now iḿ using debian 7 and all is working fine! now i'want to know how i can put resolved in the title of this thread.
    Cristiano Araujo

    Design and programming are human activities; forget that and all is lost.
    Stroustrup, Bjarne

Similar Threads

  1. Problems installing Qt Creator 5 and Qt 4
    By u04245822 in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd April 2013, 10:10
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th October 2011, 09:53
  3. Installing FANN lib in Qt creator!
    By Abeer in forum Newbie
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th July 2011, 08:51
  4. Installing QT Creator - debugger is missing!
    By Istrebitel in forum Newbie
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th October 2010, 12:05
  5. Matplotlib widget installing on Qt Creator
    By soulz9 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th April 2010, 06:57

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.