Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Emit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Emit

    I am looking through some Qt code and have been seeing the keyword "emit" followed by a function call. What does "emit" do? Why could the function just not be called. I have looked on-line for some information, but I have not found anything that clears up my confusion. Thanks for your help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ukraine,Lviv
    Posts
    454
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Emit

    You can use emit for sending your own signals.Read details in QAsistant.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Emit

    Qt Code:
    1. What does "emit" do?
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    you can call the signal also without using the "emit" .
    It's just syntactical sugar.

    Cheers

Similar Threads

  1. emit qt signal is very slow how it can be optimized?
    By sawerset in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 30th December 2008, 09:21
  2. how to know which button emit the signal?
    By coder1985 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th January 2008, 14:26
  3. Signal defined in "a.h" can not emit in "b.cpp"
    By Shawn in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 21st May 2007, 16:55
  4. From extends QTreeWidgetItem emit signal?
    By patrik08 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th May 2006, 14:54
  5. How and when to repaint a widget ?
    By yellowmat in forum Newbie
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 3rd April 2006, 16:36

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.