Thread: Qt for linux OR Qt/Embedded??

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

Question Qt for linux OR Qt/Embedded??

I am a newbie to Qt and am going to develop a qt app for an embedded device with linux as the platform. I need a FREE sdk to work on.

My question is - Which SDK should I use - Qt 4.5 sdk for linux or Qt/Embedded? I could not locate the Qt/Embedded sdk anywhere on the downloads page?

Thanks for your help!

Thanks
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits

Default Re: Qt for linux OR Qt/Embedded??

There is no separate SDK for embedded. You have to install Creator and Qt/Embedded independently. SDK is just Creator+Qt+MinGW. You'll want a compiler dedicated for your Linux platform anyway, so there would be no sense in having separate bundles for each possible embedded platform.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.

3. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

GeorgeOfTheBush (14th May 2009)

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

Question Re: Qt for linux OR Qt/Embedded??

I have already downloaded and installed the complete Qt for Linux SDK. Can I develop apps on linux and then port them to the embedded device? If yes, what is the procedure? If you could point me to any other links/docs, that would be great.

Also, you have asked me to install Creator and Qt/Embedded independently. How do I do that?

Thanks again.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Wiki edits

Quote Originally Posted by GeorgeOfTheBush View Post
    Can I develop apps on linux and then port them to the embedded device?