Thread: Static Linux Builds

Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

Default Static Linux Builds

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to Qt.
    I tried to build my first application, which works perfectly fine on my own Linux machine.
    However, I shared it with an online friend, and my husband, and they could not run it on their Linux machines.

Now I have been reading that I need to build my application statically.
    I even found the official guide (linky), but it doesn't provide the first and most important step: Download link to the libraries.
    I have also found this guide (http://qtnbeyond.blogspot.jp/2011/03...reator-in.html), but this one is meant for the older version, and the download link there doesn't work.

So, can somebody at least explain me what to do now?

~Yami

PS: Sorry for my English, I'm Japanese.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Default Re: Static Linux Builds

Qt sources can be downloaded from here http://download.qt.io/official_releases/qt/

Another option aside from statically linking is to bundle the dynamic libraries with the application and letting a start script set the environment such that the bundled libraries are found.

This can be done with a custom script and any archive, e.g. ZIP, or with something like http://appimage.org/

Cheers,
    _

Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

Okay, I found the source during before your reply, and I have re-compiled Qt5 with the "-static" flag, but nothing seems to be changed.
    Whatever I build now is still dynamically linked...
    The only difference is, I'm on Qt 5.7 now, instead of Qt 5.6.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

When you build your application you need to check that it actually builds against your Qt, not that installed in the system.

I.e. make sure you run qmake from your custom Qt.

Cheers,
    _