Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 40 of 40

Thread: Widget GPS

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    wysota:

    I also didn't really intend on doing the whole thing for him, I already did the bar widget to show him the basics, and since it's appearant that's not all he wants, hopefully he can figure out the others after stydying my BarWidget. And I still recommend that he uses separate labels and LCD numbers (and maybe some stylesheets to make them fit in) instead of reimplementing them himself.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    19
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    tanks, I would like the widgets be separate and I need'em for a school project, i have to build a display for a bike

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    OK, just create a custom widget and add some QLabels, some QLCDNumbers, and my BarWidget (which you can, of course, modify to better fit your needs) to it. If layouts won't work and the size, theme, or language will never change, then you can use absolute positioning for the widgets.

    That curved bar indicator thing would be doable in the same fashion as my BarWidget did it, but it would be immensely complicated to get that curved shape, especially if you want it to stretch to any size. Maybe you can do it with pre-made images drawn using an image editor?

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    I'd just like to remind everyone about our 'school assignment' policy
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  5. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    19
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    I'd just like to remind everyone about our 'school assignment' policy
    This project is for my Display Bike help me!

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    19
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    Quote Originally Posted by MTK358 View Post
    OK, just create a custom widget and add some QLabels, some QLCDNumbers, and my BarWidget (which you can, of course, modify to better fit your needs) to it. If layouts won't work and the size, theme, or language will never change, then you can use absolute positioning for the widgets.

    That curved bar indicator thing would be doable in the same fashion as my BarWidget did it, but it would be immensely complicated to get that curved shape, especially if you want it to stretch to any size. Maybe you can do it with pre-made images drawn using an image editor?

    can you also add the code that u sent me at my code, so in this way all can work together, because i'm not able to do this thing.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    What does the code in your original post do, and is that the functionality you want for you final application?

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    19
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    Quote Originally Posted by MTK358 View Post
    What does the code in your original post do, and is that the functionality you want for you final application?

    i used this application to clock the laps when i go to the racetrack and it tells me if i do a good time or not than the best lap. also it tells me the speed, the water temperature of the motor and the GPS signal for my position on the track

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    19
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    Quote Originally Posted by MTK358 View Post
    I didn't get any private message. Anyway, the code:
    have you recive my private message?

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    Yes. So?

    Should I explain more about how to make your own widget contain other widgets and how to lay them out?

  11. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    19
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    Quote Originally Posted by MTK358 View Post
    Yes. So?

    Should I explain more about how to make your own widget contain other widgets and how to lay them out?
    it would be great if i had more than a week time to do it...since i'd like to do it by tomorrow, could you please do it for me? i can pay you if you want"

  12. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    He expects you to do his work for him.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  13. #33
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    Quote Originally Posted by toro.86 View Post
    it would be great if i had more than a week time to do it...since i'd like to do it by tomorrow, could you please do it for me? i can pay you if you want"
    It's not really fair for me to do your school assignment for you, and besides, it's against the rules of this forum.

    Here are some tips:

    To add a layout to a widget: widget->setLayout(layout)

    Add a widget to a box layout: layout->addWidget(widget)

    Add a widget to a grid layout: gridLayout->addWidget(widget, row, column)

    Add a widget to a grid layout, spanning multiple cells: gridLayout->addWidget(widget, row, column, numRows, numColumns)

    Add a layout to a layout: layout->addLayout(subLayout)

    You can also add layouts to grid layout cells, just use addLayout() instead of addWidget().

  14. #34
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    19
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    He expects you to do his work for him.

    i know nothing about Qt and this friday i have to test my display at Monza, on my motorbike cause i'm italian. cau do it for me?

  15. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    Quote Originally Posted by toro.86 View Post
    i know nothing about Qt
    So why are you trying to use it?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  16. #36
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    19
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    Quote Originally Posted by MTK358 View Post
    It's not really fair for me to do your school assignment for you, and besides, it's against the rules of this forum.

    Here are some tips:

    To add a layout to a widget: widget->setLayout(layout)

    Add a widget to a box layout: layout->addWidget(widget)

    Add a widget to a grid layout: gridLayout->addWidget(widget, row, column)

    Add a widget to a grid layout, spanning multiple cells: gridLayout->addWidget(widget, row, column, numRows, numColumns)

    Add a layout to a layout: layout->addLayout(subLayout)

    You can also add layouts to grid layout cells, just use addLayout() instead of addWidget().
    it is not for school i know nothing about Qt and this friday i have to test my display at Monza circuit, on my motorbike cause i'm italian. cau do it for me?

  17. #37
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    OK, I misunderstood. Anyway, it doesn't look like you're trying. I told you how to lay out the widgets properly in my previous post. Do it, and then post your results.

  18. #38
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    19
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    So why are you trying to use it?
    what do u do with a display on a motorcycle for the racetrack?

  19. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    I'm asking about Qt and not your "display"
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  20. #40
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 31 Times in 25 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Widget GPS

    Hi,

    If it is very urgent, and if it is for demonstration purposes to prove that a certain technology is working, I believe it is better to stick with the existing widgets rather than writing your own ones, even if they look more fancy.

    Check out http://qt-apps.org/content/show.php/...?content=87780. That widget set contains some very nice indicator widgets that could be used. If you try and use this, and run into some problems when using it, then we could help you out better.

    And a second thing... if something is very urgent, it is always a very bad idea to try and use a toolkit that you are not familiar with. Stick with what you know.

    Best regards,
    Marc

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 29th May 2010, 18:42
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 14th January 2010, 08:47
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd March 2008, 22:15
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th October 2007, 12:52
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th November 2006, 23:50

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.