Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Qt 4.3.0 to 4.5.3 Windows Visual Studio

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sta. Eugènia de Berga (Vic - Barcelona - Spain)
    Posts
    869
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Qt 4.3.0 to 4.5.3 Windows Visual Studio

    Hi,

    I have been using Qt 4.3.0 on Windows with Visual Studio and now I tryied to upgrade to last Qt version.

    To try the new version I opened Visual Studio and created a new Qt project. I tried to compile it but it tells me that "QtCored4.lib" is not found. I looked the Qt dirs and I found that in Qt 4.3.0 there are some libs that contain the number 4 and in the last Qt version there is not any lib that contains the number 4.

    So, is this a Qt change?

    Another question is:
    I'm copiling the last Qt version to use Visual Studio. In the project options I used to configure to use "QtCored4.lib". The "lib" extension is the static libs? And "dll" the dynamic libs, right?
    Now I'm compliing them as static and shared, but it is possible to use the shared libs into Visual Studio?

    Thanks,
    Òscar Llarch i Galán

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt 4.3.0 to 4.5.3 Windows Visual Studio

    Qt is shipped with libraries for GCC. If you want to use Visual Studio then you have to recompile it. You can't just use the DLL files, you need .lib files regardless of whether you want static or dynamic, the only difference will be that the .lib files for dynamic will be much smaller as the bulk of the code will be in the dll file.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sta. Eugènia de Berga (Vic - Barcelona - Spain)
    Posts
    869
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 4.3.0 to 4.5.3 Windows Visual Studio

    Hi,

    I know that libs are released to be used with GCC.

    When I downloaded and installed Qt 4.5.3 there are not "lib" files. So if I want to develop an application in GCC, how the linker knows what to link?
    Òscar Llarch i Galán

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt 4.3.0 to 4.5.3 Windows Visual Studio

    It uses the '.a' files.

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with compiling qt on windows xp with phonon
    By junky in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th April 2009, 08:13
  2. qtgui4.dll error in visual c++ 2005
    By Comptrol in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 19th June 2008, 07:18
  3. Qt 4 for Windows CE : Visual Studio 2005 integration
    By pscheven in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th March 2008, 08:36
  4. Qt configure with msvc.net
    By jivanr in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th June 2007, 08:17
  5. Qt Cryptographic Architecture
    By vermarajeev in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th February 2007, 13:15

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.