Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: QtCreator on Windows--Directory names with spaces

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    219
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default QtCreator on Windows--Directory names with spaces

    I've used VS2010 with the Qt addin for doing developing Qt applications on Windows. But, after using QtCreator for some embedded Linux development, I've decided I prefer it to Visual Studio (for Qt work).

    So, I tried rebuilding a 4.8 application using QtCreator. But, QtCreator seems to have problems building from a directory that's named something like:

    Users/Dave/My Software

    Is that a limitation, or is there a setting/easy workaround?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kraków, Poland
    Posts
    1,536
    Thanked 284 Times in 279 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QtCreator on Windows--Directory names with spaces

    All names with spaces must be taken in apostrophes ". In example like this :
    Qt Code:
    1. LIBS += "$$MylibDir/$$LIBVARIANT/libmylib.a" \
    2. "$$QExtserialportDir/libqextserialport.a"
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    This is not a Qt problem but normal symptom on Windows, Linux and other systems.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    219
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: QtCreator on Windows--Directory names with spaces

    here's nothing in the .pro file that has spaces.

    It's in QtCreator itself--the .pro file sits in a directory with spaces. So, I think it is indeed a Qt Creator problem.

    Also, it works fine if I just move to a directory which has no spaces in its path---which is the obvious workaround.

    But, when in Windows, (if its easy) I'd prefer to work in more Windows standard folder names, like "My Documents", etc.

    If that's possible (and easy) with QtCreator, I'd prefer to do that. Otherwise, I'll just create a special place on windows for sandboxes that will be used with QtCreator. (Not a big deal, but I thought I'd ask)

Similar Threads

  1. Remove all spaces in string except spaces in quotes
    By bnosam in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26th June 2014, 03:37
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th April 2013, 11:20
  3. How to get a list of file names in a directory?
    By khanhsk in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th February 2012, 02:34
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th January 2010, 20:11
  5. Filtering blank spaces while saving file names
    By jyoti kumar in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd September 2007, 06:53

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.