Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Qtopia Vs Qt/X11 confusion...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Qtopia Vs Qt/X11 confusion...

    G'Day all,

    Let me start by saying I am new to the embedded world so please be gentle....

    I am looking at buying a PDA ( a TDS Nomad) to use for some personal projects (ham radio but don't hold that against me!). It comes pre-installed with Linux (2.6) and the option of X11/GTK+/Qt4.3 or Qtopia 2.2.

    Now my problem is I am not sure which version to go for. I have written some simple apps in Qt4.3 on my desktop Linux/windows machine and I would like to run them on the PDA. I am guessing that I should go with the X11/Qt4.3 version since the (I'm guessing) the Qtopia 2.2 version is not directly compatible with Qt4.3.

    Does this mean I should be able to just copy my app to the PDA and it should run? In other words can the compiling be done on the desktop and the final app then just be copied over to the PDA and run? Or does it need to be compiled on PDA to allow for the processor differences?

    Taking it further am I correct in assuming that if I write an app in Qt4.3 I can cross compile it using Qtopia 4.3 and it will run on a PDA using Qtopia 4.3/Linux (obviously there would be some changes due to screen sizes, pointing devices, etc.)?

    Sorry if I sound confused, but I am! I am sure the concept is quite simple I just haven't got it yet.

    Here a link to the device...
    http://www.sdgsystems.com/index.php?...d=49&Itemid=51

    Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

    Regards, B1.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qtopia Vs Qt/X11 confusion...

    Quote Originally Posted by b1 View Post
    Does this mean I should be able to just copy my app to the PDA and it should run? In other words can the compiling be done on the desktop and the final app then just be copied over to the PDA and run? Or does it need to be compiled on PDA to allow for the processor differences?
    You need to recompile it for your PDA. The processor is probably different and installed library versions and paths are surely different.

    Taking it further am I correct in assuming that if I write an app in Qt4.3 I can cross compile it using Qtopia 4.3 and it will run on a PDA using Qtopia 4.3/Linux (obviously there would be some changes due to screen sizes, pointing devices, etc.)?
    Yes, this is correct. The changes apart from the differences you mention are just minor modifications.

    BTW. Qt is coming to Windows Mobile as well, so using the Win Mobile version is an option as well.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qtopia Vs Qt/X11 confusion...

    Thanks Wysota,

    I am starting to get the hang of it. A bit more reading is required but its coming together.

    Thanks, B1.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ljubljana
    Posts
    687
    Thanks
    111
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Qtopia Vs Qt/X11 confusion...

    Taking it further am I correct in assuming that if I write an app in Qt4.3 I can cross compile it using Qtopia 4.3 and it will run on a PDA using Qtopia 4.3/Linux (obviously there would be some changes due to screen sizes, pointing devices, etc.)?
    Is this possible in general? To write an app in qt and then cross compile it for qtopia and it works?? I mean withhout single change of source?
    Qt 5.3 Opensource & Creator 3.1.2

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qtopia Vs Qt/X11 confusion...

    You need to change QApplication or to QtopiaApplication. If you have a user interface that works well for desktops and handhelds, that's it.

Similar Threads

  1. OpenGL ES, Qt/11 - Qtopia Core?
    By zelko in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd May 2007, 10:56
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th March 2007, 18:24
  3. Qtopia 4.2 Open Source edition released!
    By lpotter in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st December 2006, 20:45
  4. Undefined symbols in Qtopia
    By minguzzi in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th September 2006, 13:59

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.