Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Qt 4.1 install failing on Linux

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Question Qt 4.1 install failing on Linux

    By default, the ./configure from Qt 4.1 includes the mkspecs from Qt3 (/usr/lib/qt3/mkspecs/linux-g++/) and --of course-- it fails.

    I definitively don't ask ./configure to use this path so I guess this is a setting on my system. But where?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt 4.1 install failing on Linux

    Try clearing $QTDIR. Although it is very strange. When is this Qt3 spec directory used? After compiling Qt4 qmake or before?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 4.1 install failing on Linux

    Very strange. I've intstalled Qt4.1.0 on Fedora Core 3 without any problems (but my $QTDIR points to /usr/lib/qt-3.3).
    What exactly do you see/have?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt 4.1 install failing on Linux

    Sounds strange to me too. did you run ./configure with no options?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt 4.1 install failing on Linux

    @Wisota: Before everything. It starts on the first call to g++. There is this option -I/usr/lib/qt3/mkspecs/linux-g++/ that is inserted with every call but comes from I don't know where.

    @Dusdan: Yes I run ./configure without option. I tried once ./configure -release (on a freshly decompressed archive) but it made no difference.

    @AlexKiriukha: My QTDIR is "/usr/lib/qt3". Here's what I see just before the error:
    ------------

    g++ -c -o qfsfileengine_unix.o -pipe -O2 -march=i586 -mtune=i686 -fmessage-length=0 -Wall -D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2 -g -DQMAKE_OPENSOURCE_EDITION -g -I. -Igenerators -Igenerators/unix -Igenerators/win32 -Igenerators/mac -I/home/maxilys/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/src/corelib/arch/generic -I/home/maxilys/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/include -I/home/maxilys/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/include/QtCore -I/home/maxilys/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/include -I/home/maxilys/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/include/QtCore -I/home/maxilys/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/src/corelib/global -DQT_NO_TEXTCODEC -DQT_NO_UNICODETABLES -DQT_NO_COMPONENT -DQT_NO_STL -DQT_BUILD_QMAKE -DQT_NO_COMPRESS -I/usr/lib/qt3/mkspecs/linux-g++/ -DHAVE_QCONFIG_CPP -DQT_NO_THREAD -DQT_NO_QOBJECT -DQT_NO_GEOM_VARIANT /home/maxilys/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/src/corelib/io/qfsfileengine_unix.cpp
    /home/maxilys/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/src/corelib/io/qfsfileengine_unix.cpp: In member function ‘bool QFSFileEnginePrivate::doStat() const’:
    /home/maxilys/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/src/corelib/io/qfsfileengine_unix.cpp:283: error: ‘QT_LSTAT’ was not declared in this scope
    /home/maxilys/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/src/corelib/io/qfsfileengine_unix.cpp: In member function ‘virtual bool QFSFileEngine::setSize(qint64)’:
    /home/maxilys/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/src/corelib/io/qfsfileengine_unix.cpp:540: error: ‘QT_FTRUNCATE’ was not declared in this scope
    /home/maxilys/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/src/corelib/io/qfsfileengine_unix.cpp:542: error: ‘QT_TRUNCATE’ was not declared in this scope
    gmake: *** [qfsfileengine_unix.o] Erreur 1

    ------------

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 4.1 install failing on Linux

    Ok, I see that line:
    ----------------------8<----------------------
    g++ -c -o qfsfileengine_unix.o -pipe -DQMAKE_OPENSOURCE_EDITION -g -I. -Igenerators -Igenerators/unix -Igenerators/win32 -Igenerators/mac -I/tmp/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/src/corelib/arch/generic -I/tmp/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/include -I/tmp/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/include/QtCore -I/tmp/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/include -I/tmp/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/include/QtCore -I/tmp/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/src/corelib/global -DQT_NO_TEXTCODEC -DQT_NO_UNICODETABLES -DQT_NO_COMPONENT -DQT_NO_STL -DQT_BUILD_QMAKE -DQT_NO_COMPRESS -I/tmp/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/mkspecs/linux-g++ -DHAVE_QCONFIG_CPP -DQT_NO_THREAD -DQT_NO_QOBJECT -DQT_NO_GEOM_VARIANT /tmp/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/src/corelib/io/qfsfileengine_unix.cpp
    ----------------------8<----------------------
    gcc version 3.4.4 20050721 (Red Hat 3.4.4-2)
    I've just unpacked and run ./configure

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt 4.1 install failing on Linux

    Check all your environment variables to see if this include path is set somewhere. Maybe you have it enabled somewhere and it gets appended here. Especially check vars which are used by g++ during compilation.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt
    Posts
    500
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt 4.1 install failing on Linux

    I think you have $QMAKESPEC set.
    It's nice to be important but it's more important to be nice.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 4.1 install failing on Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by axeljaeger
    I think you have $QMAKESPEC set.
    I've just tried to set QMAKESPEC to linux-g++ (it didn't exist).
    All is buiding fine (as it were). Seems that problem in another place.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt
    Posts
    500
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt 4.1 install failing on Linux

    My idea was to unset QMAKESPEC because I had the same trouble on mac where QMAKESPEC was set. Setting QMAKESPEC to "" helped.
    It's nice to be important but it's more important to be nice.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Smile Re: Qt 4.1 install failing on Linux

    Thank you. QMAKESPEC was just the var I was looking for.

    I reset it to an empty string before the ./configure and everything went fine. Qt 4.1 is currently building itself since already 10 minutes.

    Wait and see...

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt 4.1 install failing on Linux

    That's really strange. I'm unable to reproduce any problem by setting QTDIR and/or QMAKESPEC on a Fedora Core 4 workstation. Also I read though the configure script and I don't see how setting QMAKESPEC could impact it.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th January 2009, 10:03
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th December 2008, 11:33
  3. How to install Qt/Qtopia on embeded linux?
    By atil in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13th December 2007, 23:03
  4. Error install at linux red hat
    By Colx007 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th October 2007, 17:47
  5. Cannot Install KDEdevel packages on linux
    By wirajr in forum KDE Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 5th February 2006, 22:01

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.