Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: qmake not executable on buildplatform because it is compiled for the target :(

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Unhappy qmake not executable on buildplatform because it is compiled for the target :(

    Hello,

    I try to crosscompile qtcore or qt-embedded for stlinux (sh4-g++).
    Now the configure- or buildprocess always fails with the errormessage ".../qmake: canot execute binary" because qmake wasalready compiled with the sh4-gcc crosscompiler and should be used on the x86 build platform.
    bye

    chriwi

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,014 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: qmake not executable on buildplatform because it is compiled for the target :(

    Build Qt for your desktop then as well and use its qmake to generate makefiles for the other platform.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: qmake not executable on buildplatform because it is compiled for the target :(

    Hello Wysota,

    I already thougt about this, but I canot imagine that this is the only possibility and canot be the intention of an automatic configuration for a crosscompilation.
    bye

    chriwi

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,014 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: qmake not executable on buildplatform because it is compiled for the target :(

    I don't really understand... That's a standard procedure with every cross compilation - you need tools that are built for the platform you are compiling on. It's like if you said this is a problem because you have to have the crosscompiler instead of having a single compiler building for all possible platforms and on all possible platforms.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Lightbulb Re: qmake not executable on buildplatform because it is compiled for the target :(

    Hello wysota,

    probably you are right, I am new to crosscompilation or at least to crosscompilation where you have to build your own tools before I only used Crosscompilers where the complete toolchain cam from the CVS.
    I alredy noticed the fact that here alsosome tools have to be build for the system I compile on, I was only starteled that this is not both part of one configure- or makeprocess and that the binaries for the different platforms are not kept apart in differen directories like /bin/host and /bin/trget.

    thank you for your help
    bye

    chriwi

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,364
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,014 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: qmake not executable on buildplatform because it is compiled for the target :(

    Quote Originally Posted by chriwi View Post
    probably you are right, I am new to crosscompilation or at least to crosscompilation where you have to build your own tools before I only used Crosscompilers where the complete toolchain cam from the CVS.
    Did it come as sources or as binary? If the former, then that's the exact same situation - you need to build a tool from sources for the correct platform. The difference might be that tools you used were meant for a single platform. In case of Qt and friends the same set of sources is meant to work on all platforms.

Similar Threads

  1. how to corss compile for windows in Linux
    By safknw in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 13th May 2006, 05:23

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.