Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: learn how to install QT with msvc2005 step by step

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    12
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Post learn how to install QT with msvc2005 step by step

    hi, this is my experiment in installing Qt4 with visual studio 2005.
    1- I extracted the Qt source in (c:\Qt\4.3.2)
    2- I added the PATH to the system and user environment as follows
    - right click on my computer -> properties -> advanced->Environment variables-> new
    - variable name = PATH
    - variable value = c:\Qt\4.3.2\bin
    3- I configured it as follows
    - start -> All programs->visual studio 2005->visual studio tools->visual studio 2005
    command prompt
    - cd\
    - cd qt
    - cd 4.3.2
    - write (configure –platform win32-msvc2005 –debug-and-release –fast –prefix
    c:\Qt\4.3.2) in the cmd window.
    4- After configuring Qt then build it by typing nmake in the command prompt.
    5- Then I execute Qt visual studio integration program.
    6- Then in visual studio Tools->options->Qt->builds and click add write Qt version
    (e.g Qt-4.3.2) and the directory where Qt is installed( e.g c:\Qt\4.3.2).
    7- Then I added QTDIR to the system and user environment as follows
    - right click on my computer -> properties -> advanced->Environment variables-> new
    variable name = QTDIR
    variable value = c:\qt\4.3.2

    variable name = QMKESPEC
    variable value = win32-msvc2005

    8- Then in visual studio tools-> options->projects and solutions-> vc++ directories->
    include files I added
    $(QTDIR)\include
    $(QTDIR)\include\Qt
    $(QTDIR)\include\QtCore
    $(QTDIR)\include\QtGui
    $(QTDIR)\include\QtNetwork
    $(QTDIR)\include\QtSvg
    $(QTDIR)\include\QtXml
    $(QTDIR)\include\Qt3Support
    $(QTDIR)\include\ActiveQt

    and in library files I added
    $(QTDIR)\lib
    9- Then I started to make a project just as follows
    file -> new->project->Qt projects->Qt Applecation
    10- Then I compiled it as follows
    build->build solution
    11- Then execute the exe and enjoy.
    it is working with code completion.

    but but but i got a problem when i tried to use a command prompt i got an error:
    'arp' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    where arp is the command i used. and it is occurring when i attempt to use any
    command
    prompt operation. i don't konw why.
    if you have the answer please help me.
    finaly i want to say i consumed a month trying to install Qt thanks for every body
    helped me in this long pass.
    and thank you again.
    Last edited by coder1985; 19th December 2007 at 22:16.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: learn how to install QT with msvc2005

    Quote Originally Posted by coder1985 View Post
    i got a problem when i tried to use a command prompt i got an error:
    'arp' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    where arp is the command i used. and it is occurring when i attempt to use any
    command
    prompt operation. i don't konw why
    What happens if you enter "dir"?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    12
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: learn how to install QT with msvc2005 step by step

    when i executed "dir" it worked but the names of the folders and files are appeared
    to the right in the cmd and the dates to the left of it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    12
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: learn how to install QT with msvc2005 step by step

    recently i found another error related to the cmd.
    when i tried to compile an application containing UI file i got the following error:
    ================================================== =
    ------ Build started: Project: spreadsheet, Configuration: Release Win32 ------
    Uic'ing c:\Documents and Settings\muhammad\My Documents\spreadsheet\gotocelldialog.ui...
    Project : error PRJ0003 : Error spawning 'cmd.exe'.
    Build log was saved at "file://c:\Documents and Settings\muhammad\My Documents\Visual Studio 2005\Projects\spreadsheet\spreadsheet\Release\Buil dLog.htm"
    spreadsheet - 1 error(s), 0 warning(s)
    ========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========
    ================================================== ======

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: learn how to install QT with msvc2005 step by step

    Quote Originally Posted by coder1985 View Post
    when i executed "dir" it worked but the names of the folders and files are appeared
    to the right in the cmd and the dates to the left of it.
    OK, then there's nothing wrong with your command prompt. Just make sure you enter windows commands, not the Linux ones.

    Quote Originally Posted by coder1985 View Post
    Project : error PRJ0003 : Error spawning 'cmd.exe'.
    Build log was saved at "file://c:\Documents and Settings\muhammad\My Documents\Visual Studio 2005\Projects\spreadsheet\spreadsheet\Release\Buil dLog.htm"
    Is there anything about cmd.exe in that build log? The PATH environment variable might be set incorectly, but I'm not sure why uic would want to run cmd.exe.
    Last edited by jacek; 21st December 2007 at 12:07. Reason: typo

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    12
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: learn how to install QT with msvc2005 step by step

    first i am sure that the commands are for windows.because i was using that commands
    before i install Qt.

    second uic try to execute the following command:
    "$(QTDIR)\bin\uic.exe" -o ".\GeneratedFiles\ui_gotocelldialog.h" "$(InputPath)"
    but it could not because the cmd problem.
    there is something wrong!!!!!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    12
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: learn how to install QT with msvc2005 step by step

    the problem is solved when i added system environment varibale:
    PATH = c:\windows\system32
    and every thing is working well now, and i compiled a spreadsheet program with visual studio and it was nice.

Similar Threads

  1. Cannot Install KDEdevel packages on linux
    By wirajr in forum KDE Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 5th February 2006, 22:01

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.