Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Building for Windows

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Building for Windows

    Hello!

    I'm trying to build my application to a executable runnable on Windows. The source was written on Linux.

    What is the proper sequence of qmake/make commands to get this to happen.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,363
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,012 Times in 4,791 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Building for Windows

    Did you, by any chance, read the docs? And did you, by any chance, try the same sequence as on Linux?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Building for Windows

    Yeah I've looked but I haven't found anything.

    The process I use in Linux is
    qmake -project
    qmake
    make

    But that doesn't create a usable executable in Windows.

    I've tried
    qmake -project -win32
    qmake
    make

    But that doesn't work

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 975 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Building for Windows

    Quote Originally Posted by qball2k5
    But that doesn't work
    How does it "doesn't work"? Are you trying to cross-compile your application?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Building for Windows

    Yes....that's what I'm trying to accomplish.

    It's not a big deal. I don't even need to know the answer right now.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 975 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Building for Windows

    I've never tried it, but I guess you have to take one of the directories from QTDIR/mkspecs and tweak the qmake.conf and qplatformdefs.h, so that they point to your cross-compiler toolchain, and then cross-compile Qt and your application.

    One thing I'm sure is that it isn't possible with Open Source edition of Qt/X11 --- you will have to download the windows version.

    If you manage to do it, write a tutorial and we will publish it here.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bremen, Germany
    Posts
    458
    Thanked 63 Times in 59 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Building for Windows

    There was a post about this on qt-interest two days ago:
    http://lists.trolltech.com/qt-intere...ad00351-0.html

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12th July 2010, 00:41
  2. Problem building application with custom widget
    By Uthar in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19th January 2009, 18:57
  3. Building debug version under VS2008
    By KenW in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd May 2008, 20:09
  4. Building Qt 4.3.4 on Win Vista & MinGW
    By Sirow in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th April 2008, 19:27
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th November 2007, 02:34

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.