Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: terminal widget

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default terminal widget

    Hi.
    I need a terminal widget. Something that looks and works like a linux terminal or a windows cmd. Is there something like that written in c++ or even qith Qt?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: terminal widget

    Well... there are xterm, eterm, konsole and many other terminal software available. Choose which one suits you best. Or maybe I don't understand your question

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: terminal widget

    i ment a pure Qt terminal. konsole is kde. it shall work under windows and mac, too.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    250
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 49 Times in 36 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: terminal widget

    Of course if you feel like hacking around with kdelibs, it should work with Windows and Mac as well.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: terminal widget

    Quote Originally Posted by kernel_panic View Post
    i ment a pure Qt terminal. konsole is kde. it shall work under windows and mac, too.
    Don't expect such solution to be available. Unix terminals use termio structures which are not available under Windows and Windows cmd has nothing to do with a real terminal. It's just a window that displays some text in a crude way. The term "pseudo terminal" fits it more than the real pseudo terminals

    If you want a "portable" solution, you'll have to reduce your expectations to a "window displaying some text".

    If you just need a terminal, go for putty or an xterm (or similar) running under cygwin. But of course it will run sh or family and not command.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: terminal widget

    ....
    no, i ment a widget that "shows text in a crude way" like you said.
    there shall be no function, except the way the widget displays text.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: terminal widget

    So what is wrong with QTextBrowser?

  8. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    MarkoSan (12th January 2008)

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: terminal widget

    not really.
    atm i use qtextbrowser. but its a terminal app for accesing an embedded system. its a linux system. i use a qtextbrowser for displaying incoming text and a qlineedit for typing commands. But this doesnt look fine. I want this app to look like xterm or konsole and act like them. and i have to do some translations from vt100 and to vt100.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: terminal widget

    ok now i got it working somehow. i use a widget, catch key events and translate the key events to vt100 commands. i use a buffer string where i put in received data. my only problem now is, that apps like vi arent displayed well. everytime i type a in sth in vi, i display a new view. instead of deleting the old view and than displaying the new. this means if i type 3 letters in vi, i display 3 different vi outputs.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: terminal widget

    Look at qtermwidget.sourceforge.net

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    5
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: terminal widget

    Can you get success with QtermWidget ?

    I´m trying to use pdCurs, http://pdcurses.sourceforge.net/, it´s appears to me a good way, but if there are a Qt Way I prefer, for sure!

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: terminal widget

    http://code.google.com/p/qterminalwidget/

    It's only a start yet but works on unix and windows.
    If you are interested to help - you are welcome to join.
    Last edited by CLRS530; 21st November 2009 at 15:17.

Similar Threads

  1. Tricky problem with ARGB widget / UpdateLayeredWindow
    By nooky59 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st February 2008, 11:35
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th October 2007, 13:52
  3. transparent background of the main widget
    By nagpalma in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th May 2007, 18:52
  4. Controlling which widget on top layer?
    By JonathanForQT4 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22nd March 2007, 15:27
  5. [Qt 4.1.0] Split a widget on demand
    By Townk in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th February 2006, 15:16

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.