Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Writing System in QFontDialog?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Gorakhpur, India
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Lightbulb Writing System in QFontDialog?

    Dear All!
    I am facing a problem with QFontDialog Writing System as follows.

    I am opening a font Dialog
    Qt Code:
    1. QFont tmpFont(QFontDialog::getFont(0,txtScrollEdit->font()));
    2. txtScrollEdit->setFont(tmpFont);
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    using this code. After that when I open this dialog box & choose the writing system Devanagari its shows the many Hindi Font families. In that I choose Lohit Hindi. After that I clicked over the OK button.
    But when I typing the text, It displays in the English. When I reopen the dialog; It shows the any writing system. So, how a way I select the different writing pattern using with QFontDialog.
    Anurag Shukla
    A man who never makes mistake is the man who never does anything! Theodre Rosvelt!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Bangalore,India
    Posts
    419
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 53 Times in 40 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Writing System in QFontDialog?

    What are the values of
    Qt Code:
    1. tmpFont.family()
    2. tmpFont.exactMatch()
    3. tmpFont.rawName()
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    The biggest difference between time and space is that you can't reuse time.
    -- Merrick Furst

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Gorakhpur, India
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Writing System in QFontDialog?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gopala Krishna View Post
    What are the values of
    Qt Code:
    1. tmpFont.family()
    2. tmpFont.exactMatch()
    3. tmpFont.rawName()
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    Dear Sir!
    The value is shown below;
    "Lohit Hindi"
    true
    "Multi"
    Anurag Shukla
    A man who never makes mistake is the man who never does anything! Theodre Rosvelt!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Bangalore,India
    Posts
    419
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 53 Times in 40 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Writing System in QFontDialog?

    Quote Originally Posted by ashukla View Post
    Dear Sir!
    The value is shown below;
    "Lohit Hindi"
    true
    "Multi"
    Did you try
    Qt Code:
    1. txtScrollEdit->setCurrentFont(tmpFont);
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    instead of txtScrollEdit->setFont
    The biggest difference between time and space is that you can't reuse time.
    -- Merrick Furst

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Gorakhpur, India
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Writing System in QFontDialog?

    Qt Code:
    1. txtScrollEdit->setCurrentFont(tmpFont);
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    has a same effect as setFont().
    And the second I have a need to change whole text font family not from a current cursor point.
    So, Sir! What should I do for that.
    Anurag Shukla
    A man who never makes mistake is the man who never does anything! Theodre Rosvelt!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    368
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Writing System in QFontDialog?

    try QTextDocument::setDefaultFont (if you are using a QTextEdit for example)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Writing System in QFontDialog?

    I'd suggest taking a look at the Rich Text demo.
    J-P Nurmi

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Gorakhpur, India
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Writing System in QFontDialog?

    Quote Originally Posted by jpn View Post
    I'd suggest taking a look at the Rich Text demo.
    Dear Sir!
    I have depicted it; but unable to find the way. I have searched one way but it is not well. for setting the Hindi language first I select the Hindi SCIM setup in Linux, I type in the txtScrollEdit QTextEdit It types in Hindi; but writing system is still in Hindi by default. How a way I set the writingSystem of QFont Dialog. Please suggest me some presize hint.
    Anurag Shukla
    A man who never makes mistake is the man who never does anything! Theodre Rosvelt!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Writing System in QFontDialog?

    I know nothing about Hindi fonts, but I suggested the demo for you to see how to properly apply font changes. You're particularly interested in TextEdit::textFamily(), TextEdit::textSize() etc. and TextEdit::mergeFormatOnWordOrSelection().
    J-P Nurmi

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Gorakhpur, India
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Writing System in QFontDialog?

    Quote Originally Posted by jpn View Post
    I know nothing about Hindi fonts, but I suggested the demo for you to see how to properly apply font changes. You're particularly interested in TextEdit::textFamily(), TextEdit::textSize() etc. and TextEdit::mergeFormatOnWordOrSelection().
    Here my means is not only Hindi Fonts but also writingSystem of QFontDialog. How to set the WritingSystem of QFontDialog. Because whenever I select from its list it viewed and cliked ok. But Again when I opened the dialog it any writing system appeared; which is by default.
    Anurag Shukla
    A man who never makes mistake is the man who never does anything! Theodre Rosvelt!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Writing System in QFontDialog?

    A quick look suggests to me that there is no way to set it. Try searching Task-Tracker and send a bug report if no relevant bug is found.
    J-P Nurmi

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Gorakhpur, India
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Writing System in QFontDialog?

    Quote Originally Posted by jpn View Post
    A quick look suggests to me that there is no way to set it. Try searching Task-Tracker and send a bug report if no relevant bug is found.
    Yes! You are thinking right. But I am not understanding it is provided in QFontComboBox using with
    Qt Code:
    1. void setWritingSystem ( QFontDatabase::WritingSystem script )
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    ; but not in QFontDialog.
    Anurag Shukla
    A man who never makes mistake is the man who never does anything! Theodre Rosvelt!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Gorakhpur, India
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Writing System in QFontDialog?

    void setWritingSystem ( QFontDatabase::WritingSystem script )
    This property holds the writing system that serves as a filter for the combobox.
    If script is QFontDatabase::Any (the default), all fonts are listed.
    It only filter the Font Families; but does not change the required language. However still it is a problem of setting the writingSystem of QFontDialogBox.

    Please view the experts the problem & suggest;
    But how a way I am swiching languages according to writingSystem & font families.
    Last edited by jpn; 23rd January 2008 at 10:18. Reason: changed [code] to [quote]
    Anurag Shukla
    A man who never makes mistake is the man who never does anything! Theodre Rosvelt!

Similar Threads

  1. System environment variable
    By fahlen in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th November 2007, 19:02
  2. Qt Cryptographic Architecture
    By vermarajeev in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th February 2007, 13:15

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.