Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: qt with visual studio 2005; lib problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    27
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default qt with visual studio 2005; lib problem

    Hello,

    I use Qt 4.2.0 open source with visual studio 2005 and I cannot load qt libraries because I have *.a files in my qt\4.2.0\lib directory, and a need to have *.lib. How could I convert *.a into *.lib? I work in C++. There is In that lib directory a read me file witch contains: "If this directory is empty, you probably forgot to compile the Qt library." How I can compile Qt libraries, and got *.lib files?
    When I create project as makefile project I can include that libraries, but I cannot load any other libraries (I need to load my *.lib). Because I created console application project. I set up qt parameters as described in following file: http://mm-werkstatt.informatik.uni-a...als/qt2005.pdf

    Thanks a lot!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Munich, Bavaria
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qt with visual studio 2005; lib problem

    you need to build qt with msvc compiler.
    to do so you need to run configure with the platform parameter.
    look slike this:
    configure -platform win32-msvc2005

    Please make sure this is the valid parameter for your Qt and VS version.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    27
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qt with visual studio 2005; lib problem

    Hi DeepDiver,
    Thanks for your reply, but I already done that. I typed:
    qconfigure msvc2005 -qt-gif -plugin-sql-odbc -plugin-sql-sqlite.
    I'm successful build my makefile project and ran my Qt application, but in makefile project I cannot add my library files (*.lib), and I make a console application project, but win32 application could not load *.a libraries. I need to convert *.a into *.lib.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Munich, Bavaria
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qt with visual studio 2005; lib problem

    There is something totally wrong with your qt build.
    *.a means Qt has been compiled with gcc/mingw.
    *.lib is created by msvc.

    there is NO way to convert *.a to *.lib - these are proprietory binary files.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    27
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qt with visual studio 2005; lib problem

    I earlier used eclipse with mingw for my qt, and I set up parameters for mingw. I reconfigure parameters for visual studio, but *.lib files are not created. Should I delete any configuration and configure again? How can I clean earlier configuration?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Munich, Bavaria
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qt with visual studio 2005; lib problem

    Come on! Just a little bit of do-it-yourself and try-and-error together with some rtfm!

    As wysota said: Our policy is to give fishing rods and not fish.

    http://www.qtcentre.org/forum/p-the-...stcount10.html

    Brute-force-hit: Delete the folder, extract qt-zip and configure it! ;-)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    27
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qt with visual studio 2005; lib problem

    I downloaded new version of Qt (4.3.3) and configure (configure -platform win32-msvc2005) but it made *.prl files in lib directory. That did not created *.lib. I can't load *.prl libs too.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: qt with visual studio 2005; lib problem

    Did look at the output? Did anything fail while attempting to build Qt?
    J-P Nurmi

Similar Threads

  1. Set up the Qt4.3.2 with Visual Studio 2005
    By lamoda in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30th January 2008, 06:51
  2. Qt configure with msvc.net
    By jivanr in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th June 2007, 08:17
  3. Qt Cryptographic Architecture
    By vermarajeev in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th February 2007, 13:15
  4. Qt-4.2.2 qmake won't compile under visual studio 2005 on vista
    By moowy in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13th January 2007, 21:06
  5. Qt Designer & Visual Studio 2005
    By pSiCho in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th February 2006, 13:40

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.