Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Application plugin on windows

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default Application plugin on windows

    Hello,

    I have the following problem:
    I develop an application under Linux, but it must also run under Windows. The app uses its own plugins (the qt style). I have a Plugin Interface and a base class that implements this interface. The base class is compiled into a dynamic library. The idea is: The user subclasses this base class without having to implement the interface. Furthermore the base class depends on other libraries.

    So i have a plugin, a dynamic lib with the base class and other libraries. The plugin uses the base class lib. On Linux everything works fine, setting LD_LIBRARY_PATH to lib dir with the base class lib.

    On Windows, the app compiles just fine, but the plugin isnt loaded at startup.

    Any ideas? Where can i place the libs (.dll) on Windows?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Application plugin on windows

    DLLs should be in the same directory where the main executable is and plugins should be placed in proper subdirectories.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Application plugin on windows

    Ok, Problem solved. Forgot the DLL exports, now everything works.

    Good Hints in this thread:
    http://www.qtcentre.org/forum/showth...hlight=missing

Similar Threads

  1. setting main application icon on windows
    By JeanC in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12th June 2017, 05:35
  2. Start Qt application as Windows Service
    By ^NyAw^ in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10th May 2008, 17:23
  3. Porting Qt embedded application to windows.
    By vipin in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th January 2008, 16:08
  4. QPluginLoader not recognizing a plugin
    By KShots in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th June 2007, 14:13
  5. Qt Designer plugin on windows
    By big4mil in forum Newbie
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th May 2007, 17:33

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.