Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: makefile missing separator problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Eugene, OR, USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default makefile missing separator problem

    I'm installing QT on Fedora 9 system and on a Windows Vista system for some cross-platform development, using Qdevelop on both. Fedora 9 part is up and running well. However, when I try to run the first example on the Win system I get:

    Build (make)...
    Makefile.Debug:61: *** missing separator. Stop.
    mingw32-make: *** [debug] Error 2
    C:/MinGW/bin/mingw32-make -f Makefile.Debug
    mingw32-make[1]: Entering directory `C:/Users/terry/my1'
    mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `C:/Users/terry/my1'

    Looking at Makefile.Debug (or for that matter Makefile.Release) does not show to my novice eyes any missing separator, and in fact the line in questions look like the one on the working Fedora installation.

    I'd appreciate any input including a forum more appropriate for asking if that is the case as well as any other pointers. I've gone through QTassistant w/o finding anything, also rebuilt the package as well, also Googled a lot, but I haven't yet been able to find a solution.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bremen, Germany
    Posts
    554
    Thanked 86 Times in 81 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: makefile missing separator problem

    Plz search the Forum. Do you have msvc installed? Make sure INCLUDE and LIB environment vars do not contain paths to msvc when compiling with mingw (which, I guess you do)

  3. The following user says thank you to ChristianEhrlicher for this useful post:

    terrywb (6th June 2008)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Eugene, OR, USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: makefile missing separator problem

    Quote Originally Posted by ChristianEhrlicher View Post
    Plz search the Forum. Do you have msvc installed? Make sure INCLUDE and LIB environment vars do not contain paths to msvc when compiling with mingw (which, I guess you do)
    Thanks for the reply. It was one of the things that finally allowed me to figure out what was happening. I was using mingw32-make when I should have been using nmake. and I also had neglected to use the configure -platform option.

    Finally, though, since I wasn't using MSVC, I simply removed it, then did a clean ordinary configure again, and everything worked.

    Thanks again,

    Terry

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: makefile missing separator problem

    Hi All

    I also came across this 'missing separator' make problem after installing Eclipse/Mingw when I had previously been using MSVC++.

    In my case I found that the QMAKESPEC environment variable was still set to expect MSVC++, i.e. probably still set for nmake. Setting QMAKESPEC to "win32-g++" solved the problem.

    T.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: makefile missing separator problem

    I have the same problem(the error message below) I use windows xp ,I have set all the environement paths correctly :
    C:\MinGW\bin
    QSPECMAKE =win32-g++

    path=%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoo t%\System32\Wbem;C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTSystem\;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\AGL;C:\Qt\4.4.3\bin;C:\mingw\bin;C:\mi ngw\libexec\gcc\mingw32\3.4.5
    __________________________________________________ ___
    Build (make)...
    C:/MinGW/bin/mingw32-make -f Makefile.Release
    mingw32-make[1]: Entering directory `E:/QDtest/qdtest'
    mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `E:/QDtest/qdtest'
    Makefile.Release:61: *** missing separator. Stop.
    mingw32-make: *** [release] Error 2
    ---------------------- Build finished without error----------------------
    Attached Images Attached Images

Similar Threads

  1. not able to change Makefile
    By shamik in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th June 2007, 13:00
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th March 2006, 21:22

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.