Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Qt Designer 4 window doesnt appear

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    46
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Qt Designer 4 window doesnt appear

    Hello,
    I have been working on Qt4 Designer for some days now.Today I encountered a strange problem.The Qt Designer window just doesnt appear when I try to open this tool.I tried through KMenu->Development->Qt4 Designer but the result is the same.I tried through Konsole and get the follwoing error:
    Qt Code:
    1. [root@localhost mywidgetplugin]# designer-qt4
    2. /usr/lib/qt4/bin/designer-qt4: error while loading shared libraries: libts-0.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Any ideas anyone?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,518 Times in 1,388 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Qt Designer 4 window doesnt appear

    Qt Code:
    1. sudo apt-get install libts-0.0-0
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    ?
    J-P Nurmi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    46
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt Designer 4 window doesnt appear

    I forgot to mention some more details....
    host : Fedora 6
    Qtopia 4.3.3.
    Qt4 Designer
    target : cirrus ARM9


    Thanks jpn.....I had just tried reinstalling qt4-designer through
    yum install qt4-designer
    before I read your reply.Now when I try to open qt4-designer from the terminal through
    designer-qt4.I get the follwoing error:
    Qt Code:
    1. [root@localhost ~]# designer-qt4
    2. QWSSocket::connectToLocalFile could not connect:: Connection refused
    3. QWSSocket::connectToLocalFile could not connect:: Connection refused
    4. QWSSocket::connectToLocalFile could not connect:: Connection refused
    5. QWSSocket::connectToLocalFile could not connect:: Connection refused
    6. QWSSocket::connectToLocalFile could not connect:: Connection refused
    7. QWSSocket::connectToLocalFile could not connect:: Connection refused
    8. No Qtopia Core server appears to be running.
    9. If you want to run this program as a server,
    10. add the "-qws" command-line option.
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    When I add -qws to the command this is what I get:

    Qt Code:
    1. [root@localhost ~]# designer-qt4 -qws
    2. Error opening framebuffer device /dev/fb0
    3. QScreenLinuxFb::connect: No such file or directory
    4. Error opening framebuffer device /dev/fb0
    5. QScreenLinuxFb::connect: No such file or directory
    6. Error opening framebuffer device /dev/fb0
    7. ...continues with this message
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    I have no idea how this tool which was working fine a week ago crashed all of a sudden...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,518 Times in 1,388 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Qt Designer 4 window doesnt appear

    Well, I wouldn't myself even bother using Qt Designer in frame buffer but use the X11 version of Qt Designer to design my forms.
    J-P Nurmi

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    46
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt Designer 4 application doesnt load

    Yeah in fact earlier I had been using X11 version......I guess I installed the wrong version this time......Do I need to delete any files before I reinstall qt4-designer using yum install?
    Can anyone please list out the steps for reinstalling qt4-designer X11 version?
    I tried with
    yum install qt4-designer
    but I am not able to use this installed version.Do I need to delete previous Qt4 files before reinstalling?
    I already have Qtopiacore 4.3.3 installed on my system.
    Last edited by raman_31181; 28th June 2008 at 12:53.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    46
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default installing qt4-designer

    Anyone can help me out with installation on Qt4-Designer?I tried installing for the nth time using
    yum install qt4-designer

    but when I double click the shortcut the window just doesnt show up.

    I tried opening from the terminal but I get this error

    [root@localhost /]# designer-qt4
    QWSSocket::connectToLocalFile could not connect:: Connection refused
    QWSSocket::connectToLocalFile could not connect:: Connection refused
    QWSSocket::connectToLocalFile could not connect:: Connection refused
    I guess this is the framebuffer version but I need X11 version.I already have qtopia-4.3.3
    installed on my sytem.Can anyone share any ideas?
    Last edited by raman_31181; 1st July 2008 at 07:45. Reason: typo

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,518 Times in 1,388 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Qt Designer 4 window doesnt appear

    'designer-qt4' is likely just a symbolic link. Find out where the actual binaries are and launch the X11 version instead of the framebuffer version.
    J-P Nurmi

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    46
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt Designer 4 window doesnt appear

    I queried for file type of designer-qt4.is is a symbolic link to designer

    All the binaries are located at /usr/lib/qt4/bin.
    My question is how do I launch the X11 version instead of framebuffer version?
    These are the contents of the location

    Qt Code:
    1. [root@localhost bin]# pwd
    2. /usr/lib/qt4/bin
    3. [root@localhost bin]# ls
    4. designer lrelease moc qdbuscpp2xml qmake-qt4 uic3
    5. designer-qt4 lrelease-qt4 moc-qt4 qdbusviewer qt3to4 uic-qt4
    6. linguist lupdate pixeltool qdbusxml2cpp rcc
    7. linguist-qt4 lupdate-qt4 qdbus qmake uic
    8. [root@localhost bin]#
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Thanks,
    ramandeep

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,518 Times in 1,388 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Qt Designer 4 window doesnt appear

    Where does "yum install qt4-designer" install the designer binary? Where did you install qtopia-4.3.3?
    J-P Nurmi

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    46
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt Designer 4 window doesnt appear

    qt4-designer binaries installed at
    /usr/lib/qt4/bin

    qtopia-4.3.3 was installed at
    /usr/local/Trolltech/QtopiaCore-4.3.3/

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,518 Times in 1,388 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Qt Designer 4 window doesnt appear

    Quote Originally Posted by raman_31181 View Post
    qt4-designer binaries installed at
    /usr/lib/qt4/bin

    qtopia-4.3.3 was installed at
    /usr/local/Trolltech/QtopiaCore-4.3.3/
    Do you have /usr/local/Trolltech/QtopiaCore-4.3.3/bin in PATH? What if you launch /usr/lib/qt4/bin/designer (without -qt4 suffix).
    J-P Nurmi

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    46
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt Designer 4 window doesnt appear

    I have this added in /etc/profile file

    PATH=/usr/local/Trolltech/QtopiaCore-4.3.3/bin:$PATH
    export PATH
    So I think the PATH is set.Besides I have developed some applications using qtopia.

    when I launch /usr/lib/qt4/bin/designer from the terminal I get this:

    [root@localhost /]# /usr/lib/qt4/bin/designer
    QWSSocket::connectToLocalFile could not connect:: Connection refused
    QWSSocket::connectToLocalFile could not connect:: Connection refused
    QWSSocket::connectToLocalFile could not connect:: Connection refused
    Thanks,
    Ramandeep

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,518 Times in 1,388 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Qt Designer 4 window doesnt appear

    Well, somehow you have managed to put the designer binary of QtopiaCore-4.3.3 to /usr/lib/qt4/bin/. Did you copy files by hand? What does 'ldd /usr/lib/qt4/bin/designer' output?
    J-P Nurmi

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    46
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt Designer 4 window doesnt appear

    running ldd give this

    [root@localhost /]# ldd /usr/lib/qt4/bin/designer
    /usr/local/arm/3.3.2/bin/ldd: line 130: /usr/local/arm/3.3.2/lib/ld-linux.so.2: cannot execute binary file
    /usr/local/arm/3.3.2/bin/ldd: line 140: /usr/local/arm/3.3.2/lib/ld-linux.so.2: cannot execute binary file
    ldd: /usr/local/arm/3.3.2/lib/ld-linux.so.2 exited with unknown exit code (126)
    I have designer binary in /usr/local/Trolltech/QtopiaCore-4.3.3/bin.I have posted the contents:
    [root@localhost bin]# cd /usr/local/Trolltech/QtopiaCore-4.3.3/bin
    [root@localhost bin]# ls
    assistant lupdate.debug qdbusviewer rcc
    assistant.debug moc qdbusviewer.debug rcc.debug
    designer moc.debug qdbusxml2cpp uic
    designer.debug pixeltool qdbusxml2cpp.debug uic3
    linguist pixeltool.debug qmake uic3.debug
    linguist.debug qdbus qt3to4 uic.debug
    lrelease qdbuscpp2xml qt3to4.debug
    lrelease.debug qdbuscpp2xml.debug qtdemo
    lupdate qdbus.debug qtdemo.debug
    [root@localhost bin]#
    I did not copy any binaries./usr/lib/qt4 folder was created as a result of
    yum install qt4-designer
    command.
    Last edited by raman_31181; 1st July 2008 at 10:04.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    46
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt Designer 4 window doesnt appear

    Just to confirm whether designer binaries of qt4 and qtopia are conflicting with each other or not I uninstalled qt4 through

    yum remove qt4-designer

    and tried this from the command line
    [root@localhost /]# /usr/local/Trolltech/QtopiaCore-4.3.3/bin/designer
    QWSSocket::connectToLocalFile could not connect:: Connection refused
    QWSSocket::connectToLocalFile could not connect:: Connection refused
    QWSSocket::connectToLocalFile could not connect:: Connection refused
    which doesnt seem to work anyway.Any ideas?Is there any other way to install qt4-designer?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    46
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt Designer 4 window doesnt appear

    Can anyone help me out with this?I am lost......

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    46
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt Designer 4 window doesnt appear

    Finally this is solved....
    i carried out
    yum install qt-designer

    This installed 3 packages

    ================================================== ===========================
    Package Arch Version Repository Size
    ================================================== ===========================
    Updating:
    qt-designer i386 1:3.3.8-2.fc6 updates 1.9 M
    Updating for dependencies:
    qt i386 1:3.3.8-2.fc6 updates 3.5 M
    qt-devel i386 1:3.3.8-2.fc6 updates 4.6 M

    After the installation was complete qt4 designer started working again!!!!! I think it needed some dependencies, qt-devel may be....

Similar Threads

  1. Error: BadMatch --> what's it?
    By mattia in forum Newbie
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th June 2008, 12:20
  2. Qt Designer not showing the main window
    By alecs1 in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th January 2008, 23:02
  3. Set a window as child at runtime
    By sabeesh in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th November 2007, 09:30
  4. Change shape of window / animate window
    By sabeesh in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31st October 2007, 08:16
  5. move parent window to the front.
    By hvengel in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd February 2007, 08:41

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.