Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Using QT in Visual Studio 2005

  1. #1

    Default Using QT in Visual Studio 2005

    Hi

    I am new to QT. Mostly worked with .Net applications so far. And used to Visual Studio environment.

    1. I am interested in learning how to use QT in Visual Studio 2005/2008. Which QT version should I integrate with Visual Studio to start?
    2. If I write a program using QT, how can I make sure that it runs on Windows/Linux/Macintosh/Mobile operating systems?

    Please advice. Thanks

    Pankaj

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Mountain View, California
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 74 Times in 54 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Using QT in Visual Studio 2005

    The latest version of Qt is 4.4.0. If you get the commercial version, then it integrates very well with Visual Studio 2005/2008. If you use the open source version, then you will have to build Qt yourself (not too difficult), and the integration is less. If you are not using the commercial version, then you can still use QDevelop or Eclipse as on IDE.

    To make sure Qt builds on all platforms, use Qt's classes whenever possible, even for low level stuff like files and sockets. Use qmake project files (in Visual Studio integration, you can import/export .pro files).

Similar Threads

  1. Set up the Qt4.3.2 with Visual Studio 2005
    By lamoda in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30th January 2008, 06:51
  2. Qt configure with msvc.net
    By jivanr in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th June 2007, 08:17
  3. Qt Cryptographic Architecture
    By vermarajeev in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th February 2007, 13:15
  4. Qt-4.2.2 qmake won't compile under visual studio 2005 on vista
    By moowy in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13th January 2007, 21:06
  5. Qt Designer & Visual Studio 2005
    By pSiCho in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th February 2006, 13:40

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.