Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: custom plugin load fails...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    46
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default custom plugin load fails...

    I have created a custom plugin for loading onto Qt designer.I had compiled the plugin using qtopia 4.3.3 library which generated a shared library.I copied the .so file onto
    /usr/lib/qt4/plugins folder.
    Then when I open Qt Designer tool I get this error of failed plugin

    The plugin /usr/lib/qt4//plugins/designer/libmywidgetplugin.so uses incompatible Qt Library(4.3.3) release.

    Is there any way to get around this?

    I am using
    Qt Designer 4.3.2 open source
    Qtopia open source 4.3.3

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    travelling
    Posts
    1,116
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 127 Times in 121 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: custom plugin load fails...

    Are you running Designer on an embedded device??? If this is not the case (very probable) then you'd better compile your plugin against a proper Qt desktop edition for the platform you're using...
    Current Qt projects : QCodeEdit, RotiDeCode

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    46
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: custom plugin load fails...

    Hi,
    I am developing the GUI for an embedded device(ARM9) but I am using Qt Designer on the host(PC) side.
    For compiling the plugin I have used gcc compiler and not arm-linux-gcc
    My basic motive is to add some custom plugins on to the designer which can be dragged and dropped like standard plugins.This is what I have done:
    1)I created a plugin in /tmp folder.I ran qmake and make.This compiled using gcc compiler and generated a .so file .
    2)I copied this .so file in the /usr/lib/qt4/plugins/designer folder and restarted the Qt Desginer tool which showed the plugin load error.
    Is there anything wrong with my approach?Should I compile it with arm-linux-gcc?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    travelling
    Posts
    1,116
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 127 Times in 121 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: custom plugin load fails...

    compiling with gcc is fine if you want to use your plugin with Qt Designer

    the only thing I can think about are :

    • debug/release mismatch
    • missing symbol in your plugin (a method not implemented for instance) which cause outright loading failure
    Current Qt projects : QCodeEdit, RotiDeCode

Similar Threads

  1. QPluginLoader not recognizing a plugin
    By KShots in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th June 2007, 14:13
  2. Testing a custom Plugin
    By maluta in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31st October 2006, 15:09
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th August 2006, 11:35
  4. Custom plugin for a layout
    By cocheci in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th June 2006, 18:36
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st March 2006, 23:11

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.