Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: QtConcurrent Performance

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    12
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default QtConcurrent Performance

    Hi!

    I tried QtConcurrent today to load and scale images for my QGraphicsView. My main goal was to load large images while keeping the gui responsive. Well...QtConcurrent works fine, but my gui is everything else but responsive. I checked already my code and there is no part in my gui thread which could use the cpu power (I already disabled showing the images, just scaling for now).

    Now its great that QtConcurrent makes use of both of my cores, but still 100% cpu useage is too much. I need some % for my gui too. Is there a way to tell QtConcurrent to not use everything? Maybe some priority settings? I didn't find anything in the docs.
    Last edited by tomf; 13th July 2008 at 20:14. Reason: spelling error

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: QtConcurrent Performance

    As far as I remember you can ask it to use n (one in your case) thread at once, but then what's the point of using Qt Concurrent?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    12
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: QtConcurrent Performance

    That's too bad. Whats the point of having a high level api when you can't control the basics

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: QtConcurrent Performance

    This has nothing to do with Qt Concurrent. Threads are controlled by your operating system. You can ask it to change the priority of threads it runs, but that's only a hint, so OS can ignore it.

Similar Threads

  1. Poor performance with Qt 4.3 and Microsoft SQL Server
    By Korgen in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd November 2007, 10:28
  2. GraphicsView performance problems
    By Gopala Krishna in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 79
    Last Post: 8th August 2007, 17:32
  3. [QT 4] QTextEdit performance
    By fellobo in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 6th March 2006, 19:27
  4. Increasing performance from Qtextedit, listview, etc?
    By taylor34 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th February 2006, 10:20

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.