Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Display a QWidget on a remote computer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Display a QWidget on a remote computer

    Hey!

    My question is very simple, but the solution is very complex:

    How can I display using code ("-display" when I run my application is not an option) a QWidget on a remote computer belongs to my network?

    Thanks.
    Last edited by tarod; 23rd July 2008 at 14:13. Reason: edit title

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    849
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 163 Times in 151 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Display a QWidget on a remote computer

    well, use setenv("DISPLAY", ...);
    (and before createing a QApplication...)

    Or do you want to display widgets of a single program on different machines at the same time? Then you need multiple X11 connections. I don't think this is supported by Qt.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    New Delhi, India
    Posts
    2,467
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 334 Times in 317 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Display a QWidget on a remote computer

    well, use setenv("DISPLAY", ...);
    I dont think we can use this on windows ?? can we ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    849
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 163 Times in 151 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Display a QWidget on a remote computer

    well, the setenv will be there.
    but you're right, it won't help a lot...
    (I thought you were using a real OS )

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Display a QWidget on a remote computer

    Using X11 and the method XOpenDisplay(IP) is possible.

    Is there any method to do the same in Qt?

Similar Threads

  1. Display a QWidget on two X-Server at the same time
    By tarod in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st July 2008, 12:55
  2. Display a QWidget using multi-screen
    By tarod in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th June 2008, 14:02
  3. Error in put one QWidget in another QWidget
    By xjtu in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th April 2008, 16:05
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th March 2007, 14:54
  5. QWidget display on 2 stack widget page
    By spawnwj in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th September 2006, 12:07

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.