Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Multiple QPainters on QImage

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Multiple QPainters on QImage

    I am having problems with two different objects I can paint to (one for display and one for temporary holding of an image). I can paint to a widget and to an image separately, but not sure how to paint the same image to the widget and to a QImage residing inside the widget. I would like the widget and QImage to be updated during the same trigger event.

    When I try this code, I get:
    QRasterPaintEnginer::begin: Unsupported image format (3)
    QPainter::begin(): Returned false
    QPainter::end: Painter not active, aborted

    I understand it is from having two QPainters in the paintEvent. I want full_img to be holder of the image, move the bottom 10 rows of the image to the top using drawImage on the painter, then save or paint the image I just painted to the widget to full_img.


    Qt Code:
    1. // myMI.h
    2. #include <QWidget>
    3. class MarqueeImage : public QWidget
    4. {
    5. Q_OBJECT
    6. public:
    7. MarqueeImage(QWidget *parent = 0);
    8.  
    9. protected slots:
    10. void paintEvent(QPaintEvent *event);
    11.  
    12. private:
    13. QImage top_img; // top part of the image minus 10 lines
    14. QImage bot_img; // bottom 10 lines
    15. QImage *full_img; // temporary image
    16. int myheight; // height of image
    17. int mywidth; // width of image
    18. int line_shift; // bottom 10 lines
    19. };
    20.  
    21. // myMI.cpp
    22. #include “myMI.h”
    23. #include <QPainter>
    24. #include <QTimer>
    25.  
    26. MarqueeImage::MarqueeImage(QWidget *parent)
    27. : QWidget(parent)
    28. {
    29. mywidth = 200; //bitmap width
    30. myheight = 300; //bitmap height
    31. line_shift = 10; //number of lines being moved from bottom to top
    32.  
    33. full_img = new QImage();
    34. full_img->load(“mybmp.bmp”);
    35.  
    36. QTimer *timer = new QTimer(this);
    37. connect(timer, SIGNAL(timeout()), this, SLOT(update()));
    38. timer->start(500);
    39. }
    40.  
    41. void MarqueeImage::paintEvent(QPaintEvent *)
    42. {
    43. QPainter painter(this);
    44. top_img = full_img->copy(0, 0, mywidth-1, myheight-shift-1);
    45. bot_img = full_img->copy(0, myheight-line_shift-1, mywidth-1, shift);
    46. painter.drawImage(0, 0, bot_img);
    47. painter.drawImage(0, shift, top_img);
    48.  
    49. // This is where it doesn’t work
    50. QPainter paint_all(full_img);
    51. paint_all.drawImage(0, 0, bot_img);
    52. paint_all.drawImage(0, shift, top_img);
    53.  
    54. }
    55.  
    56.  
    57. // main.cpp
    58. #include <QApplication>
    59. #include “myMI.h”
    60.  
    61. int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    62. {
    63. Qapplication app(argc, argv);
    64. MarqueeImage myMI;
    65. myMI.show();
    66. return app.exec();
    67. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Multiple QPainters on QImage

    Why do you want to repaint the image during every paintEvent? If nothing changed, the image doesn't have to be repainted. Implement a render method for your content that takes a QPainter* as an argument and when you want to repaint the image call it on the image's painter. In the paintEvent call it again but on the widget's painter.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Multiple QPainters on QImage

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    Why do you want to repaint the image during every paintEvent? If nothing changed, the image doesn't have to be repainted. Implement a render method for your content that takes a QPainter* as an argument and when you want to repaint the image call it on the image's painter. In the paintEvent call it again but on the widget's painter.
    Although I have it set up as a rotating picture, I plan to change the code to read new pixel data from a file source and place it at the top of the picture.

    I would also like to be able to place the updated images to another widget and/or save it to a file, hence why I wanted a place holder (the QImage object) for the new image data.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Multiple QPainters on QImage

    But it doesn't answer why you repaint the image in the paintEvent and not elsewhere. The paintEvent may be called for instance when something obscures your widget. There is no point in redrawing the image in such a situation.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 7th September 2011, 16:37
  2. QShared
    By sabeesh in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11th October 2007, 12:40
  3. how to corss compile for windows in Linux
    By safknw in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 13th May 2006, 05:23

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.