Thread: Hey everyone - new member

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

Default Hey everyone - new member

My name is Joe, just joined over here after seeing a blog post by Johan Thelin from the Planet KDE feed

I'm an Audiovisual Consultant, and recently become cross-discipline (at the request of superiors) and am now venturing into telecom and security. I'm a big fan of KDE, specifically on SUSE, and have recently changed most of my (far too many) machines over to OpenSUSE 10.0. I'm a regular wiki contributor over there, as well as being mildly active on the lists.

More recently I've decided to get back into coding, and have begun reading up on using Qt since I'm a somewhat recent convert to KDE over Gnome (still had those myths about Qt's licensing built into me until somewhat recently ). As a result, a new app I'm working on, an autocad equivalent, will become my first Qt app. Sure, its a huge project for an initial crossover, but I find them more interesting rather than disturbingly huge

Thats about it, glad to be here

Thanks
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11

Default Re: Hey everyone - new member

Welcome to our board.
    It's nice to be important but it's more important to be nice.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Hi Joe!
    (My first name is Jerry, but my handle on all the Linux watering holes is GreyGeek).

As a result, a new app I'm working on, an autocad equivalent, will become my first Qt app.
    Wow! That's a tough app to cut your teeth on!

Have you seen QCad, a cadcam system built using QT?

The website (http://www.ribbonsoft.com/qcad.html) appears to be down, presently, but it is in all the Debian repositories and you can probably find it at RPM Bone.

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11