Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to make build smaller

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Rijeka, Croatia
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default How to make build smaller

    hi,
    i'm trying to build Qt source by using following configuration options:
    Qt Code:
    1. configure -platform win32-msvc2005 -static -debug-and-release -fast -qt-sql-sqlite -no-qt3support -vcproj
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    the final size of build is abowe 12 GB! How can i reduce this size?
    Qt Code:
    1. nmake -clean
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    ?
    But i think that the size od Qt directory will still be to large..

    how can i exclude unnecessary stuff from building? i dont need examples, etc.

    Thanx for your answers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ukraine, Krivoy Rog
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanked 370 Times in 336 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to make build smaller

    you can comment in project.pro lines which hold exmaples and demos
    Qt Code:
    1. ...
    2. } else:isEqual(PROJECT, examples) {
    3. # SUBDIRS += examples
    4. } else:isEqual(PROJECT, demos) {
    5. # SUBDIRS += demos
    6. ...
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

  3. The following user says thank you to spirit for this useful post:

    stefan (10th September 2008)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Rijeka, Croatia
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to make build smaller

    Thank you, that's exactly what i need.
    One more question: "nmake -clean" cleans all intermediat files? are they necessary for debugging?
    Quote Originally Posted by spirit View Post
    you can comment in project.pro lines which hold exmaples and demos
    Qt Code:
    1. ...
    2. } else:isEqual(PROJECT, examples) {
    3. # SUBDIRS += examples
    4. } else:isEqual(PROJECT, demos) {
    5. # SUBDIRS += demos
    6. ...
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ukraine, Krivoy Rog
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanked 370 Times in 336 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to make build smaller

    it cleans all object files and debug information.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ukraine, Krivoy Rog
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanked 370 Times in 336 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to make build smaller

    use make -install instead.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Rijeka, Croatia
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to make build smaller

    instead of "nmake -clean"? or instead of "nmake"?
    Quote Originally Posted by spirit View Post
    use make -install instead.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ukraine, Krivoy Rog
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanked 370 Times in 336 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to make build smaller

    oh, sorry make -install works under linux.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: How to make build smaller

    nmake install works fine if you provide a prefix for the installation.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Rijeka, Croatia
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to make build smaller

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    nmake install works fine if you provide a prefix for the installation.
    Can you explain more detailed?

    Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility Version 8.00.50727.762
    Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    Usage: NMAKE @commandfile
    NMAKE [options] [/f makefile] [/x stderrfile] [macrodefs] [targets]

    Options:

    /A Build all evaluated targets
    /B Build if time stamps are equal
    /C Suppress output messages
    /D Display build information
    /E Override env-var macros
    /ERRORREPORT:{NONE|PROMPT|QUEUE|SEND} Report errors to Microsoft
    /G Display !include filenames
    /HELP Display brief usage message
    /I Ignore exit codes from commands
    /K Build unrelated targets on error
    /N Display commands but do not execute
    /NOLOGO Suppress copyright message
    /P Display NMAKE information
    /Q Check time stamps but do not build
    /R Ignore predefined rules/macros
    /S Suppress executed-commands display
    /T Change time stamps but do not build
    /U Dump inline files
    /Y Disable batch-mode


    there is no install in here..

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: How to make build smaller

    Because it is not a feature of the nmake program but from the Makefile that it uses.
    $ make --help|grep install
    $
    There is no "install" in make as well.

Similar Threads

  1. Cant build exe in windows
    By drinu21 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th November 2007, 16:11
  2. Build error on mac Platform::WaitMouseMoved
    By patrik08 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th July 2007, 13:18
  3. How can I make size of QGraphicsScene smaller?
    By troorl_ua in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st April 2007, 07:56
  4. Window OS make distclean && qmake && make one line
    By patrik08 in forum General Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd March 2007, 10:43
  5. Compiling with Qmake/Make
    By VireX in forum Newbie
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 22nd February 2007, 05:57

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.