Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: Complicated QwtPlotZoomer crash, possible bug? Help request.

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Complicated QwtPlotZoomer crash, possible bug? Help request.

    Same bug here. You can open the Windows task manager and watch the GDI objects. If a Zoomer (and on my computer a Picker as well) is enabled you are able to create about 1000 GDI objects per second. After about 10'000 GDI objects Windows isn't happy anymore.

    (About 50% of the Qwt demos crash on my computer when I recompile everything with Qt 4.5.0 rc1 (when I move the cursor over a plot), but this is maybe my problem).
    Last edited by Azraiyl; 5th February 2009 at 22:46.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,199
    Thanked 847 Times in 796 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Complicated QwtPlotZoomer crash, possible bug? Help request.

    Quote Originally Posted by Azraiyl View Post
    (About 50% of the Qwt demos crash on my computer when I recompile everything with Qt 4.5.0 rc1 (when I move the cursor over a plot), but this is maybe my problem).
    No, it's because of an changed API of Qt 4.5.0 that let's Qwt run into a NULL pointer.

    I adopted the Qwt code yesterday, but didn't check the Windows platform yet. So with the code from SVN ( 5.1 branch ) there are chances to have a working combination.

    Uwe

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Complicated QwtPlotZoomer crash, possible bug? Help request.

    Thanks. Examples now build fine and the Picker/Zoomer does not create tons of GDI objects anymore (at least with Windows XP).

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Complicated QwtPlotZoomer crash, possible bug? Help request.

    I confirm the leak was on Qt side. Qt 4.5.0 release candidate are fixed but you need to download Qwt 5.1 from svn to play with that Qt version.

    Gianni

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Complicated QwtPlotZoomer crash, possible bug? Help request.

    Great to hear you got it all sorted. Thanks Uwe, and everyone else!
    Best Regards,
    Phil Winder
    www.philwinder.com

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Complicated QwtPlotZoomer crash, possible bug? Help request.

    Hi

    I've read through this thread, and unless I'm missed something my setup should be OK. I am running qt4.4.3 and qwt5.1.1 on windows xp. However my setup is suffering from the same problem

    warning: ASSERT: "m_hdc" in file painting\qpaintengine_raster.cpp, line 4286

    Anyone any ideas why this is

    Best regards

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,199
    Thanked 847 Times in 796 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Complicated QwtPlotZoomer crash, possible bug? Help request.

    Quote Originally Posted by dbrmik View Post
    I've read through this thread, and unless I'm missed something my setup should be OK. I am running qt4.4.3 and qwt5.1.1 on windows xp. However my setup is suffering from the same problem
    Everything is wrong with your setup: it's a Qt 4.4 bug fixed in Qt 4.5 and you need Qwt 5.2 from SVN (will be released the next days) because 5.1.1 is incompatible with Qt 4.5.

    Uwe

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Complicated QwtPlotZoomer crash, possible bug? Help request.

    This problem seems to reoccur with

    Qt 4.6.2
    OS (Windows 7 Professional)
    Microsoft Visual Studio 2008
    Qwt v 5.2

    Can some one confirm it.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,199
    Thanked 847 Times in 796 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Complicated QwtPlotZoomer crash, possible bug? Help request.

    No this has to be a different one. Start your debugger, check where your application is crashing and post a bug report with more informations in a new thread.

    Uwe

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.