Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: qmake can't process project file on windows

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default qmake can't process project file on windows

    Hi

    I am experiencing a very strange error: I created a .pro file and a couple of source files on a linux machine, and after generating a Makefile and compiling successfully numerous times, committed them to an SVN repository, and checked out that repository on a windows machine. However, running qmake in the directory with the .pro file gives "Error processing project file: paintingeditor.pro", with no more information. I have tried removing various statements, qmake-ing other .pro files (which worked), changing the name of the directory to paintingeditor, and nothing works -- am I missing something totally obvious here? I can't seem to find any explanation for this problem. Running qmake -Wall prints out something about Operator= (Q_EXT_OBJ) changing previously set values or something like that, but the exact same message was printed with the other, working .pro files.

    I am using Qt 4.4.3 on Windows XP Pro. The contents of my .pro file are below.

    Qt Code:
    1. ######################################################################
    2. # Automatically generated by qmake (2.01a) Fri Oct 24 22:10:01 2008
    3. ######################################################################
    4.  
    5. TEMPLATE = app
    6. TARGET =
    7. DEPENDPATH += .
    8. INCLUDEPATH += .
    9. CONFIG += debug
    10.  
    11. win32 {
    12. CONFIG -= debug
    13. CONFIG += release
    14. }
    15.  
    16. # Input
    17. FORMS += detailseditor.ui \
    18. filechooser.ui \
    19. paintingeditor.ui
    20. HEADERS += detailseditor.h \
    21. filechooser.h \
    22. paintingeditor.h
    23. SOURCES += main.cpp \
    24. detailseditor.cpp \
    25. filechooser.cpp \
    26. paintingeditor.cpp
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    travelling
    Posts
    1,116
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 127 Times in 121 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qmake can't process project file on windows

    weird... I can't spot any obvious error in this project file so you may try :

    • setting a value for the TARGET variable
    • changing the line endings of the file (probably not a problem but who knows)
    • changing the encoding of the file (same as above)
    • regenarating your project using "qmake -project" and then adding statements (and checking after every addition if qmake fails to find the offending statement)
    Current Qt projects : QCodeEdit, RotiDeCode

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qmake can't process project file on windows

    Thanks for the suggestions, I'd tried everything but changing the encoding, however re-generating the file from scratch with qmake -project would cover that as well -- no matter what I did, I kept getting the same errors. Very weird, I know.

    In case it was some crazy problem with Windows, I also tried again after rebooting (using my original project file and regenerating with -project), which, again, failed. Running qmake -d -d doesn't seem to show any errors, reading all the default config files (in C:\Qt\4.4.3\) goes fine, the last two messages are: Reading project file "C:\path\to\paintingeditor.pro" and "Error processing project file" i.e. the message from the first post.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qmake can't process project file on windows

    Good news! I found the problem! There was a single quote in one of the parent directory's name -- renaming that directory did the trick. Now that I think of it, I seem to recall possibly reading about this in the manual. I am a little surprised that I seem to be the only person whose ever had this problem, as multiple Google and forum searches (over different forums) returned absolutely nothing relevent.

Similar Threads

  1. making qmake create VisualStudio console app project file?
    By akos.maroy in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th August 2008, 15:45
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th July 2008, 20:37
  3. Re: Opening Project file Issue in Edyuk
    By philwinder in forum Qt-based Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th May 2008, 21:49
  4. Set up the Qt4.3.2 with Visual Studio 2005
    By lamoda in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30th January 2008, 07:51
  5. Compiling with Qmake/Make
    By VireX in forum Newbie
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 22nd February 2007, 06:57

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.