Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Segmentation fault

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
    Posts
    245
    Thanks
    52
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Segmentation fault

    Any help on what it is and how I go about fixing it would be most appreciated
    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Segmentation fault

    Use a debugger to get the backtrace. Search the forums for "debugger backtrace" or something similar.
    J-P Nurmi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
    Posts
    245
    Thanks
    52
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Segmentation fault

    Thanks.
    I am using "Qdevelop" as a debuger and i get;

    "Debug...
    (gdb)
    (gdb)
    (gdb)
    (gdb)
    (gdb)
    Starting program: /home/pete/Desktop/dg-working/new/dg/dg
    [Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
    Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
    [Switching to Thread 0xb6df36c0 (LWP 24750)]
    0xb75af489 in QObject::connect () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
    (gdb) "

    I don't know where from here.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Segmentation fault

    That alone suggests that QObject::connect() gets probably called with an uninitialized pointer. Is there any window that shows the backtrace from gdb or can you type to the gdb window? The command is "bt" if you can. That would show where the call comes from.
    J-P Nurmi

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
    Posts
    245
    Thanks
    52
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Segmentation fault

    Thanks
    I got a whole bunch of stuff that didn't mean anything to me.

    I am going back in the program and look for an
    uninitialized pointer
    as you suggested earlier. Will let you know how I make out.
    Thanks again

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Segmentation fault

    Quote Originally Posted by impeteperry View Post
    I got a whole bunch of stuff that didn't mean anything to me.
    You may paste it here and we'll check it out.
    J-P Nurmi

Similar Threads

  1. segmentation fault on mouse hover
    By elessaar in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26th August 2008, 13:51
  2. segmentation fault
    By uchennaanyanwu in forum Newbie
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31st July 2008, 17:52
  3. Process aborted. Segmentation fault
    By Pragya in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th May 2007, 09:12
  4. Segmentation fault running any QT4 executables
    By jellis in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19th May 2007, 17:35
  5. Icons missing => segmentation fault
    By antonio.r.tome in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th March 2006, 17:30

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.