Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Installing Qt4 for Mac OS X

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Installing Qt4 for Mac OS X

    I recently downloaded the open-source Qt and I ran the configure file, used the 'make' command and was about to do the 'sudo make install' command when I realized I was putting it in my home folder (default behavior) when I wanted it in developer. Can anyone tell me where the make command, other than the home folder, may have placed files I need to delete? I already cleared the configure with the 'make conf clean' command and I have all the files that where in my home folder in the trash but is there anything else I missed?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    ŁÃ³dź, Poland
    Posts
    20
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Installing Qt4 for Mac OS X

    I'm not sure if I get you well, but the default installation prefix for opensource Qt4 on Mac OS X is /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3. So the whole Qt stuff goes there when you type "sudo make install". If you just built Qt and didn't install it, all the compiled files are inside the source code folder, and nowhere else, so typing make confclean should delete them all. If you want to install Qt in /Developer, be sure to specify it in configure script arguments, e.g.:

    # ./configure -prefix /Developer/Qt4

  3. The following user says thank you to ayoy for this useful post:

    DragonLance156156 (11th February 2009)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Installing Qt4 for Mac OS X

    Quote Originally Posted by ayoy View Post
    I'm not sure if I get you well, but the default installation prefix for opensource Qt4 on Mac OS X is /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3. So the whole Qt stuff goes there when you type "sudo make install". If you just built Qt and didn't install it, all the compiled files are inside the source code folder, and nowhere else, so typing make confclean should delete them all. If you want to install Qt in /Developer, be sure to specify it in configure script arguments, e.g.:
    thats not what the default file path was on mine. It just put qmake, plugins, lib, examples, doc, config.tests, mkspecs, include, demos, and bin folders right in my home folder (/user/'myusername') after only building it. And after using make conf clean they where still there.

Similar Threads

  1. Installing 32-bit static version on 64-bit machine.
    By davemar in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th October 2008, 11:13
  2. problem with Qt/ Windows--pls help
    By swamyonline in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 7th July 2008, 21:39
  3. Problems installing QT4 on PPC Mac (Tiger)
    By f.stendike in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st November 2006, 16:17
  4. Installing Qt 4.1 (open source) on Windows XP
    By katrina in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 19th February 2006, 13:26
  5. Installing QT4.1
    By impeteperry in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd February 2006, 20:56

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.