Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Qt Creator: The process could not be started!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Qt Creator: The process could not be started!

    I am using the QT Creator 0.9.2 RC1 under Windows. Since I modified my .pro file for better organisation of my output files everytime when I try to start my program out of the IDE the Qt Creator starts to compile it again, freezes a while, then outputs: "The process could not be started!".

    Heres my pro file:
    Qt Code:
    1. # -------------------------------------------------
    2. # Project created by QtCreator 2009-02-06T01:28:15
    3. # -------------------------------------------------
    4. TARGET = uglyviewer
    5. TEMPLATE = app
    6. UI_DIR = tmp
    7. MOC_DIR = tmp
    8. SOURCES += src/uglyviewer.cpp \
    9. src/main.cpp
    10. HEADERS += src/uglyviewer.h
    11. FORMS += ui/uglyviewer.ui
    12. RESOURCES += res/resource.qrc
    13.  
    14. debug {
    15. DESTDIR = bin/debug/
    16. OBJECTS_DIR = tmp/debug/
    17. RCC_DIR = tmp/debug/
    18. }
    19.  
    20. release {
    21. DESTDIR = bin/release/
    22. OBJECTS_DIR = tmp/release/
    23. RCC_DIR = tmp/release/
    24. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Starting the program normally i.e not out of the IDE works fine.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    ŁÃ³dź, Poland
    Posts
    20
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Creator: The process could not be started!

    Have you tried to delete *.pro.user file (this one generated automatically by QtCreator for storing it's configuration for the project)? QtCreator may try to reference files from old .pro.user file, probably moved by you to another location.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Creator: The process could not be started!

    I have the same problem when I upgrade QT creator from Qt0.9 to Qt1.2
    Did you find a solution?
    if I try to run from the GUI (of Qtcreator) I got "The process could not be started!" this is because the exe file is in the directory /debug and it is calling it in /release.
    If after the build I move the file manually. it is then working.
    But this mean I have to move the file every time.

    I tried to add this to the .pro but no effect:
    Qt Code:
    1. debug {
    2. DESTDIR=./debug
    3. LIBS += -L./debug
    4. } else:release {
    5. DESTDIR=./release
    6. LIBS += -L./release
    7. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Can anybody help??
    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    153
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Creator: The process could not be started!

    Have you tried going into Projects mode, going into the Run Settings tab, and then on the Run Configuration clicking the "+" button and selecting your executable there? This seemed to resolve the problem for me.

    ~codeslicer

  5. The following 3 users say thank you to codeslicer for this useful post:

    Action (11th August 2011), ensky_cy (25th November 2009), nomadscarecrow (28th April 2010)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Talking Re: Qt Creator: The process could not be started!

    I managed to fix it by:

    erase all make files and debug files and also the .pro file (I had to save the configuration of this .pro) also the ".project"
    well i erase almost everything except my ".cpp" and .h" files

    then

    Use command line : "qmake -project" to recreate the .pro file

    and rebuild everthing inside qt creator
    which remade all make file and other stuff.

    and it is working now. and it is now calling the right directory /debug for the .exe

  7. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    136
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Creator: The process could not be started!

    Thanks for the hint codeslicer. I was also having the same problem since upgrading to 1.2.
    I wonder why Qt Creator can't find the output exe now...

Similar Threads

  1. How to communicate Qt Process with non-qt process
    By nrabara in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15th February 2009, 21:01
  2. Process Read/Write
    By QbelcorT in forum Newbie
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th November 2008, 03:08
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th March 2007, 08:10

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.