Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Designer: Spacer doesn't do what I want...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    15
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Designer: Spacer doesn't do what I want...

    Hi,

    I have a problem with the Qt designer.

    I have a widget stack, inside the widget stack I have a few elemets. These elements are placed nicly relativly to themselves. I have arranged these using "layout vertically" and "layout horizontially". Around this "box of elements" I have placed four spacers because I want these elements in the middle of the screen. But they aren't! They are place exactly where I drew them and the main window is as large as I drew it (I expected it to resize to the minimum needed size). Any idea what went wrong?

    Regards,
    Jochen

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,356
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,010 Times in 4,789 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Blog Entries
    4
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Designer: Spacer doesn't do what I want...

    You have to apply a layout to the form itself too. Deselect all the widgets by clicking on the form and then press one of the layout buttons.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Lincoln, NE USA
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Designer: Spacer doesn't do what I want...

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota
    You have to apply a layout to the form itself too. Deselect all the widgets by clicking on the form and then press one of the layout buttons.
    And if doing what wysota suggests gives you a pile of jumbled up controls then you don't have your controls layed out sufficiently.
    What usually happens is that you'll group controls with horizontal layouts until you get several horizontal layouts in a vertical column.
    Then you add a final vertical layout to which all the horizontal layouts have been added. That's when you click on an empty portion of your fom and then click the horizontal layout option one more time.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Kerala
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 37 Times in 32 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Designer: Spacer doesn't do what I want...

    Could u give the form and an Image Showing How u would like it to be ?
    We can't solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them

Similar Threads

  1. Threads in Designer plugins
    By hvengel in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd January 2009, 19:19
  2. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 15th December 2006, 11:52
  3. Designer crashes when selecting some widgets
    By gwendal in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21st July 2006, 13:18
  4. Adding slots in Designer
    By jamos in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th May 2006, 23:28
  5. Arthur Plugins demos and designer
    By antonio.r.tome in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21st March 2006, 14:01

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.