Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 70

Thread: Phonon module question -- help needed

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by FS Lover View Post
    I am now compiling again.
    this time with a combination of methods.
    I patched mingw headers and added extra .h files.
    I replaced qt's phonon sources with those in the kdewin project.
    I acted according to the wiki article too.
    finally I specified the release target to the mingw32-make command (probably it will work and will be much faster for my tests since no debug dlls are generated).
    Hi FS Lover,

    I would also like to try to build the mingw version . Do you mind to post more detailed instruction of your work? e.g the version of qt source code used , the parameter passed to configure script , and what was patched.

    I have downloaded the qt-win-opensource-src-4.5.2 , and run "configure -phonon-backend" , however the output shown that the support of phonon is disabled:

    Phonon support..............no

    WebKit support..............yes

    QtScriptTools support.......yes

    Graphics System.............raster

  2. #22
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    147
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    I don't need and don't like tools like qt creator.
    I need phonon support with mingw.
    I need a completely free environments and tools.
    I need independence.
    all of these are reasons why I chose Qt.
    I can and will try even more to add phonon support to mingw version.
    but I am an application developer, not an OS or programming framework developer!
    spending too much time and energy in this field on a product that is not mine seems not to be rational any more.

    I want html docs again to appear in qt directory too! as was the case before recent versions of qt.
    I didn't like qt assistant too and I used firefox for reading docs. it is more fast, flexible and feature rich.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    dont you find the index feature of qt assistant good enough to browser?

  4. #24
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    147
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    I read the whole documentation from the begining and firefox was far better for me.
    additionally, qt assistant was slower on my system.
    I used categorized index of html docs very well.
    besides all of these firefox allowed me to enlarge fonts very easily.
    for studying I almost always enlarge fonts to realy big sizes and study from a distance.
    it is the reason I still have my eyes healthy!
    I feel and use very better all other features of firefox such as bookmarks etc. that are standard and we use everyday in the web. it has a history too. etc...

  5. #25
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    147
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    Qt Code:
    1. ialiasedLines(const QPainterPath&, QD3DBatchItem**, const QRectF&)':
    2. painting\qpaintengine_d3d.cpp:2109: warning: converting to `int' from `qreal'
    3. painting\qpaintengine_d3d.cpp:2110: warning: converting to `int' from `qreal'
    4. painting\qpaintengine_d3d.cpp: In member function `virtual void QD3DDrawHelper::
    5. addTrap(const QTessellator::Trapezoid&)':
    6. painting\qpaintengine_d3d.cpp:2514: warning: converting to `DWORD' from `float'
    7. painting\qpaintengine_d3d.cpp:2517: warning: converting to `DWORD' from `float'
    8. painting\qpaintengine_d3d.cpp:2520: warning: converting to `DWORD' from `float'
    9. painting\qpaintengine_d3d.cpp:2524: warning: converting to `DWORD' from `float'
    10. painting\qpaintengine_d3d.cpp:2527: warning: converting to `DWORD' from `float'
    11. painting\qpaintengine_d3d.cpp:2530: warning: converting to `DWORD' from `float'
    12. painting\qpaintengine_d3d.cpp: In member function `void QD3DDrawHelper::tessella
    13. te(const QPolygonF&)':
    14. painting\qpaintengine_d3d.cpp:2568: warning: converting to `int' from `qreal'
    15. painting\qpaintengine_d3d.cpp:2569: warning: converting to `int' from `qreal'
    16. painting\qpaintengine_d3d.cpp: In member function `virtual void QDirect3DPaintEn
    17. gine::updateState(const QPaintEngineState&)':
    18. painting\qpaintengine_d3d.cpp:4425: warning: converting to `uint' from `qreal'
    19. mingw32-make[2]: *** [tmp/obj/debug_shared/qpaintengine_d3d.o] Error 1
    20. mingw32-make[2]: Leaving directory `D:/Qt/qt/src/gui'
    21. mingw32-make[1]: *** [debug-all] Error 2
    22. mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `D:/Qt/qt/src/gui'
    23. mingw32-make: *** [sub-gui-make_default-ordered] Error 2
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    I get errors successively. I don't know what I should do!
    can anybody help me please?

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by FS Lover View Post
    I read the whole documentation from the begining and firefox was far better for me.
    additionally, qt assistant was slower on my system.
    I used categorized index of html docs very well.
    besides all of these firefox allowed me to enlarge fonts very easily.
    for studying I almost always enlarge fonts to realy big sizes and study from a distance.
    it is the reason I still have my eyes healthy!
    I feel and use very better all other features of firefox such as bookmarks etc. that are standard and we use everyday in the web. it has a history too. etc...
    Assistant has all of those too, you know... And it has a search engine built-in which Firefox doesn't.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  7. #27
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    147
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    Assistant has all of those too, you know... And it has a search engine built-in which Firefox doesn't.
    do you mean it has a history too?!
    it's slower anyway.
    and since I have most of the time firefox open (for web and other offline docs), there is no desire to open another app just for reading some other doc.
    additionally, apparently in recent versions (qt sdk) Assistant is merged inside qt creator. so it is now much more heavy and irrelevant for reading docs.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    Don't confuse Qt with Qt SDK, they are two separate packages. And I won't believe assistant is heavier than firefox
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  9. #29
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    147
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by benlau View Post
    Hi FS Lover,

    I would also like to try to build the mingw version . Do you mind to post more detailed instruction of your work? e.g the version of qt source code used , the parameter passed to configure script , and what was patched.

    I have downloaded the qt-win-opensource-src-4.5.2 , and run "configure -phonon-backend" , however the output shown that the support of phonon is disabled:

    Phonon support..............no

    WebKit support..............yes

    QtScriptTools support.......yes

    Graphics System.............raster
    maybe we should run the MS directX SDK's env batch file before configuring.
    it is not mentioned in the wiki article.
    but I did that last time but I got compilation errors again.
    I am suspected that I should download the latest dx sdk (currently I have that kdewin installer downloaded for me).
    I am going to download the latest dx sdk tomorrow and try with it again.
    probably that will be my last try with mingw.
    if I succeed, probably I will try to provide a step by step guide.

    next, probably I will try compiling with MS VC.
    Last edited by FS Lover; 14th July 2009 at 23:28.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    147
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    maybe we should run the MS directX SDK's env batch file before configuring.
    it is not mentioned in the wiki article.
    why?!!!!!!!!

  11. #31
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    147
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    Don't confuse Qt with Qt SDK, they are two separate packages. And I won't believe assistant is heavier than firefox
    in more technical/precise words, heavier and slower are not necessarily the same/accompanied.
    an app can be heavy but performs its function rapidly.

  12. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    Ok, then I won't believe assistant is heavier or slower than firefox.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  13. #33
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    147
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    your beliefs proved to be false often

  14. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    if you like firefox.. stick with it. But dont argue that what u do is the best and dust is rest.

  15. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by FS Lover View Post
    your beliefs proved to be false often
    If you're referring to the thread about qobejct_cast then I wasn't wrong there. I just got tired of convinving a person that doesn't want to be convinced.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  16. #36
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    147
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by MrDeath View Post
    if you like firefox.. stick with it. But dont argue that what u do is the best and dust is rest.
    I want to say qt is becoming more restrictive, taking options from users. html docs are gone!
    I want phonon support in mingw version too. its a very important option to use mingw version only.
    I suspect they don't work sufficiently on such things in the open source version so that more people buy their commercial version.
    Last edited by FS Lover; 15th July 2009 at 22:30.

  17. #37
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    147
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    If you're referring to the thread about qobejct_cast then I wasn't wrong there.
    so answer my last question there.

    PS: although what I said was for fun somewhat.
    you aren't wrong often (except in that topic).
    Last edited by FS Lover; 15th July 2009 at 21:54.

  18. #38
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by FS Lover View Post
    I want to say qt is becoming more restrictive, taking options from users. html docs are gone!
    I want phonon support in mingw version too. its a very important option to use mingw version only.
    I suspect they don't work sufficiently on such things in the open source version so that more people buy their commercial version.
    sorry for my ignorance... i have Qt4.5.1,, and in the the doc folder i have html... did 4.5.2 removed them ... am i missing something..?

  19. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by FS Lover View Post
    I suspect they don't work sufficiently on such things in the open source version so that more people buy their commercial version.
    Commercial and Open-source versions are now practically identical (apart from the licence descriptions in every file).
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  20. #40
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    147
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Phonon module question -- help needed

    for very technical persons (well informed about the OS and system programming) you are right (somewhat).
    although commercial version has active qt that open source version hasn't.
    I think this is a subtle policy that open source version is available in binary form only with mingw that hasn't phonon module pre-compiled.
    I am a technical guy myself, but couldn't re-compile the whole qt successfully with mingw (additionally it is bothersome since takes many hours every time).
    there are many errors and needed information. there are too many combinations and possibilities. and no person and no article helped me step by step.
    Last edited by FS Lover; 16th July 2009 at 07:05.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th April 2009, 13:13
  2. Playing a stream using phonon module
    By ram136682 in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th August 2008, 15:42
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th August 2008, 11:54
  4. no phonon module :(
    By losiem in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th July 2008, 13:31

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.