Thread: several misc questions - static build, jpeg plugin, etc - please help a newbie!

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Default several misc questions - static build, jpeg plugin, etc - please help a newbie!

first, sorry for my probably stupid questions (although this place is for newbies anyway).
    I am new to qt and c++.

I use qt with mingw.
    I re-compileded qt libs statically for some reasons.
    (question 1:) now, isnt exists a way to compile some progs dynamically with this recompiled qt? I ran configure and make commands directly in my qt directory. now I cant make dynamically linked exe files even by specifying explicit dynamic linking options, but no errors and not even one warning are reported and static exes are generated instead of dynamic options.
    I first compiled for static libs by -static option to configure and then ran make (build process took several hours on my PIII system).
    That way qt libs were statically linked but I saw that mingw10.dll wasnt yet statically linked.
    So then again, according to articles I found on the web, I modified <qt dir>\mkspecs\win32-g++\qmake.conf and added -static to QMAKE_LFLAGS within it. And I ran 'configure -static -release -no-exceptions' and make (mingw32-make).
    This time my exe files became fully static, apparently. they can be ran alone, and of course, have a considerable size.
    I want to know some things. e.g. (question 2:) why I needed a recompilation on the whole qt for linking to mingw10.dll statically whereas mingw10.dll is from a seperate toolkit not belonging to qt; what is the job that qmake.conf and -static in QMAKE_LFLAGS do in these scenarios.
    (question 3:) what -no-exceptions does and why is needed and what limits it create for qt (or my c++ compilations in general?) apps?

(for another question) I have a test prog:

Qt Code:
    1. #include <QApplication>
    2. #include <QPixmap>
    3. #include <QPushButton>