Thread: Graphics View: Millions of items on the scene. How to improve rendering speed?

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11

Default Graphics View: Millions of items on the scene. How to improve rendering speed?

Hi,

I have to visualize a map of the Netherlands with millions of LineItems that represent roads. I have the feeling that Qt doesn't spend so much time figuring out what to draw, but actually drawing it takes way to long, especially when the view has to display the whole scene.
    The user should be able to scroll the map and to zoom in/out. Now I thought that maybe I could implement a function that renders the map onto a pixmap and display that instead of the actual scene, until the users clicks the zoom button or something in the scene changes. But it should still be possible to click on a road and select it.

Okay, I'm pretty new to Qt. In the past two weeks I found that often some of the stuff I needed was already in some form implemented in Qt, I just had to look for it in the right place.
    Does any of you have an idea how I could implement the above (or even something better)?

Thanks,

Daniel

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

Default Re: Graphics View: Millions of items on the scene. How to improve rendering speed?

i guess you will have to consider different levels of detail, depending on the zoo factor. e.g. if you show the whole netherlands then no roads other than the big "motorways" (whatever they are called there) will make sense to draw. otherwise you both overwhelm the user with lots of irrelevant details and your program which has to paint lots of items that maybe are below a pixel in size.

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11

Default Re: Graphics View: Millions of items on the scene. How to improve rendering speed?

Quote Originally Posted by caduel View Post