Results 1 to 20 of 66

Thread: linking of combox with lineEdit.

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    3

    Default linking of combox with lineEdit.

    Hi. from the image. i would like to link the Combox with the lineEdit. as in i select End device 1, only the things in end device 1 would be change to whatever i type in the lineEdit. can anyone give me some example of code about doing it?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    connect the singnal of combobox activated() to some slot in your dialog and play with lineedit

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    3

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    i know the connect part. but how about the play part?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    Quote Originally Posted by Devoraz View Post
    but how about the play part?
    you have not explained very well what is the play part?
    only the things in end device 1 would be change to whatever i type in the lineEdit.
    what the heck anybody can understand by this?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    3

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    i have attach an image what..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    why cant you rephrase your question?
    do you whant to change the text in combobox to whatever u type in lineedit?


    EDIT..

    i still cant understat what is qTemp?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    3

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    Quote Originally Posted by MrDeath View Post
    do you whant to change the text in combobox to whatever u type in lineedit?
    nope. okay i roughly explain what i am doing and what i want. first for the image there is a yellow node. they will be 8 of them. so my combobox i already set it to 8 choice. from "End Device 1 to 8"

    so now lets say when i select End device 1 on my combobox, and a type a certain word in the lineEdit. when i press ok. the word in the line edit will appear on the yellow node.

    i still cant understat what is qTemp?
    nvm just know it as printf.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    do it like this..
    Qt Code:
    1. //main
    2. MyDialog dlg;
    3.  
    4. if(dlg.exe()==QDialog::Accepted)
    5. {
    6. int deviceId = dlg.getDeviceId();
    7. QString word = dlg.getWord();
    8. if(!word.isEmpty())
    9. putWordInUse(word);
    10. .....
    11. ...
    12. }
    13.  
    14. //MyDialog
    15. int MyDialog::getDeviceId()
    16. {
    17. return combobox->currentIndex()+1;//0+1=end device 1 ,1+1.....
    18. }
    19.  
    20. int MyDialog::getWord()
    21. {
    22. return lineEdit->text();
    23. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    do not forget to connect the ok button to accept() slot of QDialog

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    3

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    i dun think this will work with my current code. argh talking in forum is pretty hard man. i cant possible post my whole source code here.

    do you have a msn or something? so i could end you my whole program. and u help me take a look?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    sorry man .. this is the best i can do...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    3

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    oh man. i seriously need some help here. anybody?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    3

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    Quote Originally Posted by MrDeath View Post
    connect the singnal of combobox activated() to some slot in your dialog and play with lineedit
    you said play with lineedit.


    anyway. izzit possible when the combox is selected and the words in the lineedit is type. then i use qsTemp.sprintf to display the word in my GUI?

Similar Threads

  1. Qt linking problem
    By LovesTha in forum Newbie
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th March 2009, 23:31
  2. How to update lineEdit
    By HelloDan in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 17th February 2009, 07:01
  3. Copy / Paste doesn't work with LineEdit
    By ia32 in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th May 2008, 21:44
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th February 2006, 09:11
  5. subclassing or redrawing a lineEdit
    By jayw710 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th February 2006, 18:26

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.