Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: problem of porting from windows to linux

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default problem of porting from windows to linux

    I have created main window using Qt Designer & put Text edit
    ors & Tree widgets on the same.
    On windows, it fits fine but on linux, where screen size is
    big, thw widgets are not adjusted acordingly & I am
    getting blank space on the bottom of the window.
    How shall I take care of this so that its portable across both
    platforms & widget sizes adjust accordingly.
    Pls help.

    Regards
    Jyoti

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ukraine,Lviv
    Posts
    454
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: problem of porting from windows to linux

    Have you use layouts ?
    a life without programming is like an empty bottle

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    667
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 80 Times in 74 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: problem of porting from windows to linux

    You should put your widgets in the layout in such a way that even if you window is resized, either your widgets should also resize (to fill in the spaces) or they should move(so that the spacing is proportionate).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: problem of porting from windows to linux

    No I have not used layouts.
    Do I need to use the same.

    Regards
    Jyoti

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,518 Times in 1,388 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: problem of porting from windows to linux

    In designer:
    Open context menu on the background of the main window, choose Lay out-> and select one of the layout options (eg. Lay Out in a Grid).

    Use spacers, nested layouts and/or play with widgets' size policies if you're not satisfied how the widgets are laid out.

    Using Qt Designer: Layouts
    J-P Nurmi

Similar Threads

  1. QGraphicsView on Linux vs. Windows
    By awestman in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th September 2008, 21:50
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 28th April 2006, 15:48
  3. gcc (linux) : ok ; g++ (windows) : fails
    By nouknouk in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th February 2006, 03:08
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th January 2006, 04:16
  5. QProcess problem with windows batch file
    By bood in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 6th January 2006, 08:08

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.