Thread: How can install Qwt & integrate with QtCreator on Ubuntu Linux ?

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

Question How can install Qwt & integrate with QtCreator on Ubuntu Linux ?

Hello,

I'm using QtCreator IDE installed from a binary downloaded from Qt. However I would like to use some Qwt widgets in my projects and would like to have them displayed in the Widget bar in Creator so I can drop-and-drag them into my forms.

I've downloaded the source for Qwt and it 'appears' that the necessary plugins to integrate with Creator are built when building the Qwt libraries, but I'm not sure. The instructions are a little vague and I'm no expert at this.

Could anyone help me please ? How can I integrate Qwt widgets so that they appear in Creator for me to drag-and-drop ?

Many thanks

Kerubu

Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

Default Re: How can install Qwt & integrate with QtCreator on Ubuntu Linux ?

a) See http://doc.qtsoftware.com/4.5/plugins-howto.html
    Check the section starting with "But where is the plugins directory ?".

b) Try ldd on the Qwt designer plugin in the same shell, where you start the creator and check if the Qwt library can be found

c) Enable QT_DEBUG_PLUGINS and you should see debug messages from
    the creator on your console.

HTH,
    Uwe

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

Thanks Uwe,

However I'm still as confused as I was before. I think the link you gave was to application plugins whereas I need to create a 'custom widget' (my terminology incorrect in my post ? ) I did find a link on the page you referred to though, although I still haven't managed to get qwt to integrate with creator. I've looked at the .pro files for qwt and there does appear to be commands to build plugins/custom widgets... al the correct macros and class interfaces are included. But as to how I get Creator to find them I don't know