Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Deploying on Windows

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    6
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Deploying on Windows

    Hi guys

    I've finished an application that works with a ms sql database, that uses a gif for the window icon and that uses a qwidget for the main window.
    Now the problem is that QtCreator builds both the debug and the release version of this software and it works fine. It finds the database, it has its icon...The problem is when I try to use this software on a pc where Qt package is not installed. If I launch the debug version, it doesn't load the icon and it seems it is not able to find the database. If I launch the release version it doesn't start reporting the error: "Unable to find the entry point ?insert@?$QVector@VQPointF@@@QAEXHABVQPointF@@@Z of the procedure in the library of dynamic linking QtCore4.dll"

    I've so tried to understand how to deploy a stand alone application on Windows and I've found this: http://doc.trolltech.com/4.5/deployment-windows.html But I'm not able to follow the guide because for example I don't have nmake file.
    Any help?
    Last edited by GianMarco; 15th October 2009 at 15:48.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Deploying on Windows

    You need to copy library from Qt/bin/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    6
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Deploying on Windows

    Done...I've copied mingwm10.dll, QtCore4.dll, QtCored4.dll, QtGui4.dll, Qtguid4.dll and QtSqld4.dll. At the end I have that problem

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    89
    Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Deploying on Windows

    You have to copy the plugins too. Just copy the "plugins" directory to your application path (from debug qt to debug app and from release qt to release app).
    For the other problem, sometimes happened to me to have another QtCore4.dll somewhere in the system path (usually in miktex or lyx directory) not compatible with the one used for building. You should fix this by putting your QtCore4.dll (the one from release qt) in the same directory of your release app.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    206
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default Re: Deploying on Windows

    Hello GianMarco,

    I have the same problem.
    Have you fix the problem with mssql

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Deploying on Windows

    the folder that contains your app (and all the dlls you listed), should look like this (for release version):
    <app>.exe
    QtCore4.dll
    QtGui4.dll
    QtSql4.dll
    mingwm10.dll
    imageformats\qgif4.dll (since you are using gif for window icon)
    sqldrivers\qsqlmysql4.dll

    plus libmySQL.dll (the MySQL client dll) should be in your path.

    If this still doesn't work, learn how to use 'depends.exe' (http://www.dependencywalker.com/).

    I would write a little testapp without the database stuff to get the icon stuff working first, then solve the dependencies on the db related dlls.

    hope this helps

  7. The following 2 users say thank you to schnitzel for this useful post:

    codeman (27th October 2009), kotodama (12th July 2011)

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Deploying on Windows

    Didn't see this thread, but my issue exactly. No go with a remote computer trying to run the application. I have even installed the full SDK on that computer, still nothing!

Similar Threads

  1. Deploying an application on windows
    By dmcr in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd September 2009, 09:23
  2. problem with deploying static application in windows
    By remy06 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd June 2009, 06:46
  3. Qt Jambi, deploying app on Mac & Windows fails
    By ChrisColon in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th February 2009, 22:05
  4. Deploying DB apps (Windows)
    By shindasingh in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th October 2007, 21:44
  5. Deploying with MySQL support under Windows
    By KShots in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th October 2006, 09:19

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.