Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Completely lost!!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Unhappy Completely lost!!!

    Hi all.

    I know this is not the best thing anyone who is willing to help would want to hear but I am completely lost.

    I am working on a project that requires real time graph plotting.
    I am using a Aspire one note book, with "Ubuntu 9.10" as the operating system.

    I have installed Qt4 and recently installed qwt - 5.2.0

    I can not seem to even get the examples running so that I can quickly learn how to use qwt under Qt4.

    Can someone please help me get the ball rolling. Please.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1,005 Times in 913 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60
    Wiki edits
    5

    Default Re: Completely lost!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Zuks View Post
    I can not seem to even get the examples running so that I can quickly learn how to use qwt under Qt4.

    Can someone please help me get the ball rolling. Please.
    Without telling us, which errors you get, we hardly can help you. Qwt is a normal library, so just link against it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Completely lost!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Lykurg View Post
    Without telling us, which errors you get, we hardly can help you. Qwt is a normal library, so just link against it.
    Ok I'll try to state what I have done so far.

    I downloaded a qwt - 5.2.0 zip file and unzipped it.
    Opened a terminal and got inside the qwt directory.

    then:
    qmake
    make
    make install

    Now when I go inside the examples directory and type:
    qmake
    make

    I get some errors:
    cd cpuplot/ && make -f Makefile
    make[1]: Entering directory `/home/computer/Downloads/qwt-5.2.0/examples/cpuplot'
    g++ -c -pipe -O2 -Wall -W -D_REENTRANT -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_SHARED -I/usr/share/qt4/mkspecs/linux-g++ -I. -I/usr/include/qt4/QtCore -I/usr/include/qt4/QtGui -I/usr/include/qt4 -I. -I. -o cpupiemarker.o cpupiemarker.cpp
    cpupiemarker.cpp:2:27: error: qwt_scale_map.h: No such file or directory
    cpupiemarker.cpp:3:28: error: qwt_plot_curve.h: No such file or directory
    In file included from cpupiemarker.cpp:4:
    cpuplot.h:1:22: error: qwt_plot.h: No such file or directory
    In file included from cpupiemarker.cpp:5:
    cpupiemarker.h:6:27: error: qwt_plot_item.h: No such file or directory
    In file included from cpupiemarker.cpp:4:
    cpuplot.h:9: error: expected class-name before ‘{’ token
    cpuplot.h:30: error: ‘QwtPlotItem’ has not been declared
    In file included from cpupiemarker.cpp:5:
    cpupiemarker.h:9: error: expected class-name before ‘{’ token
    cpupiemarker.h:16: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of ‘QwtScaleMap’ with no type
    cpupiemarker.h:16: error: expected ‘,’ or ‘...’ before ‘&’ token
    cpupiemarker.cpp: In constructor ‘CpuPieMarker::CpuPieMarker()’:
    cpupiemarker.cpp:9: error: ‘setZ’ was not declared in this scope
    cpupiemarker.cpp:11: error: ‘QwtPlotItem’ has not been declared
    cpupiemarker.cpp:11: error: ‘setRenderHint’ was not declared in this scope
    cpupiemarker.cpp: In member function ‘virtual int CpuPieMarker::rtti() const’:
    cpupiemarker.cpp:17: error: ‘QwtPlotItem’ has not been declared
    cpupiemarker.cpp: At global scope:
    cpupiemarker.cpp:21: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of ‘QwtScaleMap’ with no type
    cpupiemarker.cpp:21: error: expected ‘,’ or ‘...’ before ‘&’ token
    cpupiemarker.cpp: In member function ‘virtual void CpuPieMarker::draw(QPainter*, int) const’:
    cpupiemarker.cpp:24: error: ‘plot’ was not declared in this scope
    cpupiemarker.cpp:26: error: ‘QwtScaleMap’ does not name a type
    cpupiemarker.cpp:31: error: ‘rect’ was not declared in this scope
    cpupiemarker.cpp:33: error: ‘yMap’ was not declared in this scope
    cpupiemarker.cpp:43: error: invalid use of incomplete type ‘const struct QwtPlotCurve’
    cpuplot.h:6: error: forward declaration of ‘const struct QwtPlotCurve’
    cpupiemarker.cpp:45: error: invalid use of incomplete type ‘const struct QwtPlotCurve’
    cpuplot.h:6: error: forward declaration of ‘const struct QwtPlotCurve’
    cpupiemarker.cpp:48: error: invalid use of incomplete type ‘const struct QwtPlotCurve’
    cpuplot.h:6: error: forward declaration of ‘const struct QwtPlotCurve’
    cpupiemarker.cpp: At global scope:
    cpupiemarker.cpp:20: warning: unused parameter ‘QwtScaleMap’
    make[1]: *** [cpupiemarker.o] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/computer/Downloads/qwt-5.2.0/examples/cpuplot'
    make: *** [sub-cpuplot-make_default] Error 2

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Completely lost!!!

    You need to make qwt includes and libraries available for your Qt toolchain. As far as I remember the install (or readme?) document for Qwt contains instructions how to do that.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  5. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    Zuks (2nd December 2009)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Completely lost!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    You need to make qwt includes and libraries available for your Qt toolchain. As far as I remember the install (or readme?) document for Qwt contains instructions how to do that.
    Ok!!
    The ball is rolling
    I know can compile and run programs. I can get started.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th June 2009, 10:20
  2. lost signals ?
    By deepinlife in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th June 2008, 11:11
  3. QLineEdit lost focus
    By codebehind in forum Newbie
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 4th May 2007, 17:02
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th November 2006, 10:56
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th September 2006, 19:54

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.