Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Port Qt to ARC Processor

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Port Qt to ARC Processor

    Hello everyone

    I'm intending to port Qt to SK8855 processor whose tool chain is ARC GCC (http://www.arc.com/software/linux/). The command is "./configure -embedded arm". I meet a build break which is something like "bad instruction: swpb". It seems that there is no swpb instruction in the instruction set of the MCU.

    My question is whether it is possible to port Qt to ARC processors. What can I do if the process doesn't support swpb?

    Thanks,
    Jim King

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Port Qt to ARC Processor

    Quote Originally Posted by jim_king_2000 View Post
    My question is whether it is possible to port Qt to ARC processors.
    It should be possible provided that the CPU has support for required set of atomic operations. Just remember porting Qt to a new architecture will not be 10 minutes of work.

    What can I do if the process doesn't support swpb?
    You have to emulate it with something else. "swpb" probably stands for "swap byte".
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    jim_king_2000 (6th January 2010)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Port Qt to ARC Processor

    Thank you very much. Wish you have a good day.

    Regards,
    Jim King

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt
    Posts
    500
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11

    Default Re: Port Qt to ARC Processor

    Basically, the only thing in Qt that is processor specific is the implementation of Atomic operations. See core/global/arch for examples of such implementations for various CPUs.
    It's nice to be important but it's more important to be nice.

Similar Threads

  1. Qt4 on Snow Leopard with 32-bit (Core Duo) processor
    By titaniumdecoy in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th September 2009, 01:00
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st August 2009, 15:10
  3. high processor waste...
    By kernel_panic in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th June 2008, 23:12
  4. QProcess processor affinity
    By ibergmark in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th March 2008, 16:09
  5. Locking all threads to one processor
    By chuckshaw in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd July 2007, 19:14

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.