Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Windows SDK setup fails (required for phonon)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    157
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Windows SDK setup fails (required for phonon)

    If I call the 'SetEnv.cmd' for the windows SDK I get this error:
    The x86 compilers are not currently installed.
    Please go to Add/Remove Programs to update your installation.
    .
    Setting SDK environment relative to C:\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v7.0
    .
    Das Sprungziel - Set_x86 wurde nicht gefunden.
    I have posted further information on this problem on this site:
    http://www.matthiaspospiech.de/blog/...k-7-messed-up/

    basically it looks as if the Script itself is not working.
    However I can not see how the Qt guys itself can compile phonon if it fails
    at this point.

    If I configure Qt (4.6.1) without this script Qt fails to compile at the phonon files.

    Anyone with any information?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Windows SDK setup fails (required for phonon)

    To build Qt with Phonon you need to have MSVC 2005/2008, Windows SDK and DirectX SDK.
    It's vary useful to have command line script, that setting up needed envirement.
    For example (MSVC 2008 + Windows 7 SDK + DirectX SDK):
    Qt Code:
    1. @echo off
    2.  
    3. @set DEV=C:\Development
    4. @set PATH=%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\system32
    5. @set QTDIR=%DEV%\Qt
    6.  
    7. @echo Setting OpenSSL Env.
    8. @set PATH=%DEV%\OpenSSL\bin;%PATH%
    9. @set LIB=%DEV%\OpenSSL\lib
    10. @set INCLUDE=%DEV%\OpenSSL\include
    11.  
    12. @echo Setting DirectX Env.
    13. @set LIB=%DEV%\DirectX SDK\Lib\x86;%LIB%
    14. @set INCLUDE=%DEV%\DirectX SDK\Include;%INCLUDE%
    15.  
    16. @echo Setting Windows SDK Env.
    17. @set WindowsSdkDir=%DEV%\Windows 7 SDK
    18. @set PATH=%WindowsSdkDir%\Bin;%PATH%
    19. @set LIB=%WindowsSdkDir%\Lib;%LIB%
    20. @set INCLUDE=%WindowsSdkDir%\Include;%INCLUDE%
    21. @set CPU=i386
    22. @set TARGET_CPU=x86
    23. @set TARGET_DEBUGTYPE=RELEASE
    24.  
    25. @echo Setting MSVC2008 Env.
    26. @set VSINSTALLDIR=%DEV%\MSVC
    27. @set VCINSTALLDIR=%DEV%\MSVC\VC
    28. @set DevEnvDir=%VSINSTALLDIR%\Common7\IDE
    29. @set PATH=%VCINSTALLDIR%\bin;%VSINSTALLDIR%\Common7\Tools;%VSINSTALLDIR%\Common7\IDE;%VCINSTALLDIR%\VCPackages;%PATH%
    30. @set INCLUDE=%VCINSTALLDIR%\include;%INCLUDE%
    31. @set LIB=%VCINSTALLDIR%\lib;%LIB%
    32. @set LIBPATH=%VCINSTALLDIR%\lib
    33.  
    34. @echo Setting Framework Env.
    35. @set FrameworkVersion=v2.0.50727
    36. @set Framework35Version=v3.5
    37. @set FrameworkDir=%SystemRoot%\Microsoft.NET\Framework
    38. @set LIBPATH=%FrameworkDir%\%FrameworkVersion%;%FrameworkDir%\%Framework35Version%;%LIBPATH%
    39. @set PATH=%LIBPATH%;%PATH%
    40.  
    41. @echo Setting Qt Env.
    42. @set PATH=%QTDIR%\bin;%PATH%
    43.  
    44. @title Qt Framework 4.6.1 Development Kit.
    45.  
    46. cd %DEV%
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    This script was created by discovering setenv scripts of MSVC and SDKs by me.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    157
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Windows SDK setup fails (required for phonon)

    I will try your script as soon as I am back at my computer. However I a sure that Directx SDK is not required, since dshow.h is part of Windows SDK.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Windows SDK setup fails (required for phonon)

    If you don’t believe me, you can just read documentation: «Qt for Windows Requirements»
    (It’s vary easy to check...)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    157
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Windows SDK setup fails (required for phonon)

    Ok, I give up. It is also mentioned here:
    http://qt.nokia.com/doc/4.6/phonon-o...talling-phonon

    But what does this mean:
    If you are using a source code package of Qt, you must first install Perl so that the syncqt script invoked by configure can be executed.
    I never required such a script for compiling 4.5.x with VS 2005, nor for compilation of phonon.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Windows SDK setup fails (required for phonon)

    Perl (and all about syncqt, etc.) is unnecessary. My script — just a convenient addition.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    157
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Windows SDK setup fails (required for phonon)

    @Erik-Moscow: can you add the script as a file? Copy paste copies all line numbers too, which messes up the whole code.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Windows SDK setup fails (required for phonon)

    qt_env.zip :|
    ----------

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    157
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Windows SDK setup fails (required for phonon)

    Thank you, in the meanwhile I found out it is rather easy to patch setenv.cmd to work (only patch the path in a single line).
    However then I have to pass the target system, which is not detected automatically and no matter what target is choses it displays afterwards:
    Targeting Windows XP x86 DEBUG

    ************************************************** ********************************
    WARNING: The VC++ Compiler Toolset is not using Windows SDK v7.0. To use Windows

    SDK v7.0 use 'WindowsSdkVer.exe -version:v7.0', or alternatively you can pass the
    '/useenv' switch to vcbuild.exe to use the Windows SDK v7.0 on a per project basis.
    ************************************************** ********************************
    does this mean that SDK 7 is not useful for VC 2005 anyway?
    Do I have to install the old SDK 6.1 ?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Windows SDK setup fails (required for phonon)

    does this mean that SDK 7 is not useful for VC 2005 anyway?
    Don’t know. You can read it at specification of SDK.
    Do I have to install the old SDK 6.1 ?
    Installed 6A at C:\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v6.0A and NOT USED!!!!! AS IN SCRIPT!!!! *WALL* =)
    Using SDK from C:\Development\Windows 7 SDK ...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    157
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Windows SDK setup fails (required for phonon)

    Quote Originally Posted by Erik-Moscow View Post
    Installed 6A at C:\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v6.0A and NOT USED!!!!! AS IN SCRIPT!!!! *WALL* =)
    Using SDK from C:\Development\Windows 7 SDK ...
    I know that you are using SDK 7, I am just confused by the warning.
    I am now compiling with SDK 7, and will test if the applications are going to work on xp

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    157
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Windows SDK setup fails (required for phonon)

    SDK 7 is not compatible with MSVC 2005 (fails to link), see also other thread: http://www.qtcentre.org/threads/2760...f-phonon-fails

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Windows SDK setup fails (required for phonon)

    What’s the problem? Just download MSVC2008. Install it. And use it. o_O

    И этoт чeлoвек — «Разpабoтчик»... *WALL*

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    157
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Windows SDK setup fails (required for phonon)

    For me at home - no problem. At work (in this case university) - we only have VS 2005.
    So there is a reason to compile phonon for 2005, for 2008 I would not even try, since Qt ships the library compiled with 2008.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Windows SDK setup fails (required for phonon)

    No other SDKs supporting Windows 7. You can try to use Qt Software SDK (mingw).

Similar Threads

  1. Works well on Windows but fails on Linux
    By utkuaydin in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th January 2010, 14:22
  2. Qt Jambi, deploying app on Mac & Windows fails
    By ChrisColon in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th February 2009, 23:05
  3. Making Fails in Windows XP
    By sashwinamrita in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th December 2008, 15:41
  4. Opening text file fails after autostartup on windows
    By yogourta in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th October 2008, 04:52
  5. gcc (linux) : ok ; g++ (windows) : fails
    By nouknouk in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th February 2006, 04:08

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.