Thread: How do I make an executable file from a .ui designer file

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Default How do I make an executable file from a .ui designer file

Hi,

I'm new to Qt. I've successfully installed version 4.6.1 on my Linux system and compiled all the libraries. I've also gone into Designer and have created a sample .ui file.

Now I'm lost and confused on how exactly to create an executable file. I've gone through the documentation using Assistant many times and am not getting anywhere. I'm sure uic, qmake and mabe moc have something to do with successfully creating an executable. But can't figure out exactly what I'm suppose to do. Is there a set of explicit instructions on exactly what to do once you have a .ui file to create an executable? I can't find it anywhere. There is talk of creating project files and options here and there, but no step by step instructions on exactly what to do after you have a .ui file. How can I create a .cpp file?

any help would be greatly appreciated.

thank you in advance,
    Zareh

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

Default Re: How do I make an executable file from a .ui designer file

After u create a .ui file
    Build it either using the tools in Designer or ShortCut key:Ctrl + Shift + B to build and to run Ctrl + R
    or u can also generate .cpp files through the terminal but it is a big Procedure.
    try the earlier way if not i wil post the next details.

Happy building!

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Quote Originally Posted by qtlinuxnewbie View Post
    After u create a .ui file
    Build it either using the tools in Designer or ShortCut key:Ctrl + Shift + B to build and to run Ctrl + R
    or u can also generate .cpp files through the terminal but it is a big Procedure.
    try the earlier way if not i wil post the next details.

Happy building!