Thread: Gotcha's: developing commercial software with PyQT vrs PySide

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

Default Gotcha's: developing commercial software with PyQT vrs PySide

Hi All,
    I am looking to rapidly develop a commercial, cross platform (OsX/Win 7/XP/Maybe Ubuntu) product. The strategy I am considering is to rapidly prototype with python and QT then rewrite parts of my application in c++ as needed to get performance. I am new to QT but I have done plenty of c++/python(wxpython) before. Right now I have just been writing throw away test apps to get a feel for how QT works, before I purchase a commercial QT and PyQT icence I would like to solicit some opinions from other developers who have been down this route before. Any answers/feedback would be greatly appreciated:

-How mature is PyQT? Do many people use it in commercial applications? I would love to hear from some one who has used it to develop and ship a product.

-Has anyone used PySide, how does it compare to PyQT?

-In light of Nokia releasing PySide do people still feel its worth paying for a commercial PyQT license?

-Is their much of a performance hit from using PyQT?

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Default Re: Gotcha's: developing commercial software with PyQT vrs PySide

I'm guessing you already know this, but if you are not editing the QT source, you link dynamically, and aren't developing for mobile, you don't need a commercial license for QT, as it's LGPL.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

I don't understand why you would waste time writing Python code that you're ultimately going to toss overboard and replace with C++ code. Qt's C++ libraries are already cross-platform. Just write your code in C++ to begin with.