Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Qt Eclipse plugin - linking problem of external libraries

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Qt Eclipse plugin - linking problem of external libraries

    Hi, I'm using Eclipse CDT with Qt plugin. It works well, but I have problems when I want to link external libraries. If I create a standard C++ project, I don't have any problems, but with a Qt Gui Project I don't understand where to add libraries to the linker, because the "Property" page is different.
    Just for now, I have to manually add my libs editing the Makefile.Debug every time.
    It should be a way to do this with Eclipse.
    Could anyone help me?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt
    Posts
    500
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt Eclipse plugin - linking problem of external libraries

    There has to be a way to edit the .PRO-file of your Qt Project, either graphically or just a text editor.

    In the pro-file, add your lib to the LIBS-variable of the project file. You can have -L<library-path> and -l<library>-statements there
    It's nice to be important but it's more important to be nice.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt Eclipse plugin - linking problem of external libraries

    Thanks! I have edit manually the pro file with LIBS+= -l<library> and now it works.
    Thank you very much!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Angry Re: Qt Eclipse plugin - linking problem of external libraries

    Quote Originally Posted by axeljaeger View Post
    There has to be a way to edit the .PRO-file of your Qt Project, either graphically or just a text editor.

    In the pro-file, add your lib to the LIBS-variable of the project file. You can have -L<library-path> and -l<library>-statements there
    This thread is 5th google result for "eclipse cdt qt gui add library"

    Where should I open a bug / feature request about this?

    Because obviously creating Qt applications in eclipse and not being able to add an external library ( every application has those, apart from Hello World examples maybe! ) without having to edit .pro file manually sort of sucks.

    Maybe I`m acting stupid and not seeing anything obvious, any hints are welcome.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    769
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 94 Times in 86 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt Eclipse plugin - linking problem of external libraries

    Quote Originally Posted by furious_mushroom View Post
    This thread is 5th google result for "eclipse cdt qt gui add library"

    Where should I open a bug / feature request about this?

    Because obviously creating Qt applications in eclipse and not being able to add an external library ( every application has those, apart from Hello World examples maybe! ) without having to edit .pro file manually sort of sucks.

    Maybe I`m acting stupid and not seeing anything obvious, any hints are welcome.
    This is a serious problem with Eclipse - they leave users incapable of solving the simplest of problems by making them dependent on a tool that doesn't bother to document itself or the components it attempts to rope together. I have a strong hunch that 'the "Property" page is different' means 'I didn't make the time to learn about it,' and now that is somehow the tool's fault.

Similar Threads

  1. QtCreator and external libraries
    By GiuseppeBonfa in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22nd May 2012, 00:26
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th May 2009, 08:19
  3. Problem when linking with own static libraries
    By herveT in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th May 2009, 09:23
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd March 2009, 13:49
  5. linking libraries
    By JustaStudent in forum Newbie
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 2nd May 2006, 09:30

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.