Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Qt4.1.4 make errors.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
    Posts
    245
    Thanks
    52
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Qt4.1.4 make errors.

    I have a new installation Kubuntu 6.06
    I have installed "g++" & "make" as requested.
    I ran "./configure" no errors, warning about "xshape" which I ignored
    I ran "make"
    Make stopped with the following message
    make[3]: Entering directory `/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/corelib'
    make[3]: *** No rule to make target `../../include/QtCore/qconfig.h', needed by `.obj/debug-shared/qglobal.o'. Stop.
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/corelib'
    make[2]: *** [debug-all] Error 2
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/corelib'
    make[1]: *** [sub-corelib-make_default-ordered] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src'
    make: *** [sub-src-make_default-ordered] Error 2
    pete@newCompaxA:~/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4$
    I then looked at "corelib.pro" and got
    Qt Code:
    1. TARGET = QtCore
    2. QPRO_PWD = $$PWD
    3. QT =
    4. DEFINES += QT_BUILD_CORE_LIB
    5. win32-msvc*|win32-icc:QMAKE_LFLAGS += /BASE:0x67000000
    6.  
    7. include(../qbase.pri)
    8. include(arch/$$ARCH/arch.pri)
    9. include(global/global.pri)
    10. include(thread/thread.pri)
    11. include(tools/tools.pri)
    12. include(io/io.pri)
    13. include(plugin/plugin.pri)
    14. include(kernel/kernel.pri)
    15. include(codecs/codecs.pri)
    16.  
    17. mac:LIBS += -framework ApplicationServices
    18.  
    19. mac:lib_bundle:DEFINES += QT_NO_DEBUG_PLUGIN_CHECK
    20. win32:DEFINES-=QT_NO_CAST_TO_ASCII
    21.  
    22. QMAKE_LIBS += $$QMAKE_LIBS_CORE
    23.  
    24. contains(DEFINES,QT_EVAL):include(eval.pri)
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    I had no problems with Qt4.1,3 before

    A comple re-install of Kubunutu and/or Qt4 would be no problem.


    Thanks for any help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt4.1.4 make errors.

    What is the first error message? Try running "make > log.txt 2>&1" and check if there is anything suspicious in log.txt. Probably you need some development packages.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
    Posts
    245
    Thanks
    52
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt4.1.4 make errors.

    I jsst ran "make" again. here is the total output
    pete@newCompaq:~/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4$ make
    cd src && make -f Makefile
    make[1]: Entering directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src'
    cd tools/moc && make -f Makefile
    make[2]: Entering directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/tools/moc'
    make[2]: Nothing to be done for `first'.
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/tools/moc'
    cd tools/rcc && make -f Makefile
    make[2]: Entering directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/tools/rcc'
    make[2]: Nothing to be done for `first'.
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/tools/rcc'
    cd tools/uic && make -f Makefile
    make[2]: Entering directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/tools/uic'
    make[2]: Nothing to be done for `first'.
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/tools/uic'
    cd corelib && make -f Makefile
    make[2]: Entering directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/corelib'
    make -f Makefile.Debug all
    make[3]: Entering directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/corelib'
    make[3]: *** No rule to make target `../../include/QtCore/qconfig.h', needed by `.obj/debug-shared/qglobal.o'. Stop.
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/corelib'
    make[2]: *** [debug-all] Error 2
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src/corelib'
    make[1]: *** [sub-corelib-make_default-ordered] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/mnt/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4/src'
    make: *** [sub-src-make_default-ordered] Error 2
    pete@newCompaq:~/kubuntu/home/pete/Downloads/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.4$
    I don't want to install any packages that I don't need at this time.
    I have installed the "make" and the "g++" packages.

    I have modified the "soucesList"
    Qt Code:
    1. #
    2. # deb cdrom:[Kubuntu 6.06 _Dapper Drake_ - Release i386 (20060531)]/ dapper main restricted
    3.  
    4.  
    5. deb cdrom:[Kubuntu 6.06 _Dapper Drake_ - Release i386 (20060531)]/ dapper main restricted
    6.  
    7. deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper main restricted
    8. deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper main restricted
    9.  
    10. ## Major bug fix updates produced after the final release of the
    11. ## distribution.
    12. deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper-updates main restricted
    13. deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper-updates main restricted
    14.  
    15. ## Uncomment the following two lines to add software from the 'universe'
    16. ## repository.
    17. ## N.B. software from this repository is ENTIRELY UNSUPPORTED by the Ubuntu
    18. ## team, and may not be under a free licence. Please satisfy yourself as to
    19. ## your rights to use the software. Also, please note that software in
    20. ## universe WILL NOT receive any review or updates from the Ubuntu security
    21. ## team.
    22. deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper universe
    23. deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper universe
    24.  
    25. ## Uncomment the following two lines to add software from the 'backports'
    26. ## repository.
    27. ## N.B. software from this repository may not have been tested as
    28. ## extensively as that contained in the main release, although it includes
    29. ## newer versions of some applications which may provide useful features.
    30. ## Also, please note that software in backports WILL NOT receive any review
    31. ## or updates from the Ubuntu security team.
    32. # deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper-backports main restricted universe multiverse
    33. # deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper-backports main restricted universe multiverse
    34.  
    35.  
    36. deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper-security main restricted
    37. deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper-security main restricted
    38. deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper-security universe
    39. deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu dapper-security universe
    40.  
    41. deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper multiverse
    42. deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ dapper multiverse
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    I don't know what additional packages might be required.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt4.1.4 make errors.

    What exactly has happened when you run configure? Maybe it didn't finish its job?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
    Posts
    245
    Thanks
    52
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt4.1.4 make errors.

    Quote Originally Posted by jacek
    What exactly has happened when you run configure? Maybe it didn't finish its job?
    it had the warning about "xshape", and to run configure with " -xshape" option and how to re-move config. The warning and discription were indented. Below that at the original width it said run "make" and below that run " -c make install". I scanned thru the configsration data and there was no indication of any problem. It might have said "configure complete" but I'm not sure. It look exactly the same as when I installed Qt4.1.3;

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt4.1.4 make errors.

    Well, I've never had such problems when installing Qt, but I think that this qconfig.h file should be generated by configure.

    What filesystem do you use on the partition where you compile Qt? Did you extract sources as the same user as you are trying to compile Qt now? Also check if your clock is correctly set.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
    Posts
    245
    Thanks
    52
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt4.1.4 make errors.

    The clock is right. I use it as a screen saver.

    I let the Kubuntu installer do the partioning on a 120g drive. Everyting seems to work fine.
    I have installed "synaptic" as I prefer it to "adept" I check that the changes I made to the "sources.list" worked OK. and I had access to the addional files.

    The only additonal files I have installed are "make", "g++", "gdb", "ddd" and "synaptic" and I have run "apt-get update"

    I think your original thought, that it was looking for a missing package is correct, but what???

    Incidently, nothing has been added to the "/usr/local" file.There is no "/Trollteck?" directory there

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt4.1.4 make errors.

    Quote Originally Posted by impeteperry
    I let the Kubuntu installer do the partioning on a 120g drive. Everyting seems to work fine.
    This problem might be caused by filesystem that doesn't support soft links, but that would mean that you have installed your system on FAT or NTFS partition.

    Maybe you have moved the sources after running configure?

    Quote Originally Posted by impeteperry
    I think your original thought, that it was looking for a missing package is correct, but what???
    Yes, but it would come out after the second "make". I've checked the configure script and now I'm convinced that it failed for some reason.

    Yet something tells me that you should check if you have development package for Standard C++ library (libstdc++-devel or simliar). Probably it won't fix this issue, but you'll need it anyway.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
    Posts
    245
    Thanks
    52
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt4.1.4 make errors.

    That brought up a thought, but I started comparing installed files here with those in another computer and added any that looked promising. Still no go. Same error and I did what I didn't want to do. Add unnecessary packages.

    I'm running a current "debian" distro. Is there any place where I can find what addional packages I need.to install so I can install Qt4.1.4?

    I think I shall reinstall it this week end. Intall all the packages in my other disk, but make a note of each one so I can remove them ( full ) one by one if I get a good install of Qt4.1.4 and find out what I really need. Will let you know how I make out.

    I appreciate your help
    Last edited by impeteperry; 1st July 2006 at 03:23.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt4.1.4 make errors.

    If you were missing some package, configure should tell you about it.

    Could you do a little test? Enter the directory where Qt sources are and enter these commands:
    $ pwd
    /home/users/jacek/Qt
    $ echo "test" > test
    $ ln -s test test2
    $ cat test2
    test
    $ ls -la test*
    -rw------- 1 jacek users 5 2006-07-01 14:53 test
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 jacek users 4 2006-07-01 14:53 test2 -> test
    $ ls -la include/QtCore/qconfig.h
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 jacek users 49 2006-06-22 19:33 include/QtCore/qconfig.h -> /home/users/jacek/Qt/src/corelib/global/qconfig.h
    This will verify that soft links work.

  11. The following user says thank you to jacek for this useful post:

    impeteperry (1st July 2006)

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
    Posts
    245
    Thanks
    52
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Qt4.1.4 make errors.

    I added 2 packages "gdb" and "ddd"
    I deleted the Qt4 directory
    I "sudo ./configure -xshape"
    I "sudo make"
    I "sudo su -c make install"
    I added "PATH=/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.1.4/bin:$PATH
    export PATH"
    to the ".bash_profile.
    I re-booted.
    All works fine.

    I have a distinct feeling I did not run make as "root".

    What ever you do, don't get old. You tend to make misteaks.

    I want to thank you for your help. it is what makes Linux great.

    Pete Perry

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt4.1.4 make errors.

    Quote Originally Posted by impeteperry
    I have a distinct feeling I did not run make as "root".
    root privileges are required only for "make install". Something must have happened to Qt sources. Maybe access rights were incorrect?

  14. The following user says thank you to jacek for this useful post:

    impeteperry (2nd July 2006)

Similar Threads

  1. Qt/Embedded Installation error during make
    By mahe2310 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th September 2006, 04:05
  2. Linker errors!!
    By Seema Rao in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th April 2006, 08:14
  3. make install with debug_and_release_target
    By aba in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th April 2006, 19:28
  4. Linker Errors
    By MarkoSan in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th March 2006, 18:30
  5. Qt 4.1.0 - static examples run with errors!
    By Elder Orb in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th January 2006, 09:40

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.